Workshops
Health Sciences Library 101
Home
Health Sciences Library Tools and Services
| TOOLS | SERVICES | |
|---|---|---|
| COLLECT Find and/or create data |
CLINICAL DATA FOR RESEARCH iTHRIV Portal, TriNETX, EPIC, etc. Learn more SURVEY TOOLS AND DATA MANAGEMENT UVA-licensed Qualtrics survey tool and REDCap for surveys and project management |
RESEARCH SUPPORT UVA Health experts for consultations and guidance on finding data and securely managing and storing sensitive data throughout the life of your project
|
| DISCOVER Find books, articles, clinical tools and historical materials |
BOOKS, ARTICLES, HISTORICAL MATERIALS Virgo: the UVA library catalog Browzine: browse HSL journal subscriptions Point-of-Care: UpToDate, VisualDx, Lexicomp Article databases: PubMed, Embase, Scopus, WOS, TRIP Pro
|
INFORMATION RETRIEVAL Consultations and customized training on: clinical question development, database selection, developing search strategies, finding unpublished literature, critical appraisal, evidence synthesis, and more For inquiries related to Historical Collections, email hsl-historical@virginia.edu |
| ACCESS Retrieve citations and full text |
REMOTE ACCESS Off-Grounds access to library collections: - access via library database pages for Netbadge |
DOCUMENT DELIVERY Rapid, no-cost, online delivery of articles and books not owned by UVA, or at other UVA libraries, via ILLiad, our Interlibrary Loan service |
| ORGANIZE Organize and store information and data |
MANAGEMENT TOOLS Literature review software Covidence (UVA subscription) or Rayyan to manage review process Zotero or Lean Library Workspace to capture and manage citations, cite references within a manuscript, and create bibliographies |
REVIEW SUPPORT Consult or collaborate with librarians and data specialists during literature reviews (systematic, scoping, rapid, meta-analysis) Assistance with setup and navigation of citation managers and review software |
| ANALYZE Prepare and analyze your data |
WORKSHOPS HSL sessions on data analysis and visualization using R, Python, and Qualtrics, GenAI, and more
|
DATA CONSULTATIONS Personalized assistance by appointment with data cleaning and preparation, questions about research methods and statistics, and preparing data for publication and sharing |
| SHARE Disseminate your research findings
|
JOURNALS AND REPOSITORIES Find journals in which to publish open access for no fee by using our APC Finder
|
PUBLISHING AND PUBLIC ACCESS Assistance with choosing a journal, using preprints, creating an ORCID, and more
|
| VISIT Find a productive library space |
SPACES AND ACCESS Access most HSL spaces 24/7, including UVA Health computers, with a UVA Health badge Visit Historical Collections by appointment, between Mon-Fri, 9am-4pm Use the for-fee B&W or color printers at the library |
ROOM RESERVATIONS Reserve spaces and study rooms for group work or meetings SPECIALIZED SPACES By appointment: get assistance with our Presentation Studio or Audio Booth
|
| Learn More: Ask Us at left | ||