The Health Sciences Library is now physically open, Monday-Friday, 8:00 AM- 5:00 PM, with limited access to spaces and onsite services. The majority of Library staff continue to work remotely to provide services. For more information, please visit this page.
Current Diagnosis and Treatment Surgery by Gerard M. DohertyEvidence-based, point-of-care information on 1000 diseases and disorders most often treated by surgeons A Doody's Core Title for 2017! Expansive coverage of general surgery and all subspecialties you need to be versed in, including otolaryngology, plastic and reconstructive surgery, gynecology, orthopedics, urology, and pediatrics Intuitively organized to help you find answers quickly and easily More than 600 photographs and illustrations Detailed treatment algorithms NEW! Chapter-ending multiple-choice questions An outstanding review for the USMLE and shelf exams Updated throughout with the latest research and discoveries LANGE "All medical libraries should acquire this book, which is an outstanding text for medical students." -- 4-star Doody's review of a previous edition Essential for students, residents, practitioners, and surgeons The best introductory text to the field of surgery
Call Number: Access Medicine Collection
Publication Date: 2015-01-12
Urologic Surgery by Sam D. Graham (Editor); Thomas E. Keane (Editor)Established for over 30 years as a must-have surgical reference for resident and practicing urologists, Glenn's Urologic Surgery is now in its Seventh Edition. The world's preeminent surgeons present step-by-step descriptions of all current operative procedures for each region of the genitourinary tract and provide the background information surgeons need to ensure successful outcomes. More than 1,300 detailed illustrations demonstrate surgical anatomy and techniques. The Seventh Edition continues to emphasize laparoscopic procedures. Highlights include new chapters on robotic surgery, nanotechnology, and laparoscopic and robot-assisted laparoscopic prostatectomy. A new section covers procedures to cure or alleviate stress incontinence. A companion Website will offer the fully searchable text and an image bank.
Call Number: Ovid Book Collection
Publication Date: 2009-10-26
Kirk's General Surgical Operations by Richard Novell (Editor); Daryll Baker (Editor); Nicholas Goddard (Editor)2014 BMA Medical Book Awards Highly Commended in Surgery category! General Surgical Operations is a highly-praised and comprehensive textbook of operative surgery. It is a practical manual aimed at the surgeon who is about to carry out an operation, rather than just a description of the principles suitable for an examiner. Kirk's General Surgical Operations continues to be aimed at a broad readership: the candidate preparing for the Intercollegiate FRCS in General Surgery or international equivalents; the trained surgeon faced, through necessity, with undertaking an infrequently performed procedure; and the many surgeons working in hospitals throughout the world without access to specialist services. It remains above all a practical text which will guide the surgeon in training, or one unfamiliar with a procedure, on how to perform it, but more importantly on how to manage the uncertainties which so often arise This is a 'What to do' book. Using it the reader can aspire to gain diagnostic, decision making and operative surgical competence with confidence. The book is written in a clear and direct style and providing explicit instructions using descriptive headings for easy reference. The contents covers standard routine operations in full; non-routine and rarely performed operations are included only where appropriate and in lesser detail The text includes advice on topics such as patient selection; preparation and access to the site of operation; how to accomplish the procedure; closing and aftercare Difficulties are highlighted and advice given on how to respond to unexpected findings Each procedure is fully described thus avoiding repetitions and cutting cross-references to a minimum Regular summaries of key points in the decision making process are included. This Sixth Edition is now known as Kirk's General Surgical Operations in recognition of its distinguished founding editor, Professor RM Kirk, who is now Editor Emeritus on the textbook. The new editorial team for the Sixth Edition comprises a colorectal surgeon, a vascular surgeon and an orthopaedic surgeon The contents have been restructured and radically revised into 42 chapters, the majority of which have been completely rewritten. Laparoscopic techniques have been incorporated into all relevant chapters. All the illustrations have been redrawn to improve their clarity.
Call Number: Clinical Key Book Collection
Publication Date: 2013-07-16
Sabiston Textbook of Surgery by Courtney M. Townsend (Editor); R. Daniel Beauchamp; B Mark Evers; Kenneth L. MattoxSince its first publication in 1936, Sabiston Textbook of Surgery has been regarded as the preeminent source for definitive guidance in all areas of general surgery. The 20th edition continues the rich tradition of quality that has made this classic text synonymous with the specialty and a part of generations of surgery residents and practitioners. Meticulously updated throughout, this classic text concisely covers the breadth of material needed for certification and practice of general surgery. Detailed, full-color intraoperative illustrations and high-quality video clips capture key teaching moments, allowing you to better understand the basic science of surgery, make the most informed decisions and achieve optimal outcomes for every patient. Understand the underlying science and its clinical application to make informed surgical decisions and achieve optimal outcomes. Overcome tough challenges, manage unusual situations, and avoid complications with the most trusted advice in your field. Get the depth of coverage you need in an easily accessible, single volume organized by organ and along traditional lines beginning with principles common to surgical specialties including fluid and electrolyte management, metabolic support, and wound healing. Subsequent sections review the management of injury, transplantation, oncology, breast, endocrine, and abdominal procedures. Explore topics encountered by general surgery residents in training as well as in-depth coverage of subspecialty areas including head and neck, thoracic, vascular, urology, neurosurgery, pediatrics, and gynecology. Visually grasp and retain difficult concepts thanks to a full-color design featuring an abundance of illustrations, intraoperative photographs, video clips and tables as well as more schematic diagrams that facilitate the comprehension of surgical techniques and procedures. Glean all essential, up-to-date, need-to-know information about the latest surgical perspectives and approaches to treatment including innovations in minimally invasive surgery and percutaneous devices. Streamline clinical decision making with an increased number of schematic diagrams and key data on surgical outcomes. Expert Consult eBook version included with purchase. This enhanced eBook experience allows you to search all of the text, figures, images, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Call Number: Clinical Key Collection
Publication Date: 2016-06-03
Principles of Surgery by F. Charles Brunicardi; Dana K. Andersen; Timothy Billiar; David L. Dunn; John G. Hunter; Jeffrey B. Matthews; Raphael E. Pollock; Timothy R. BilliarTHE WORLD'S #1 SURGERY TEXT--UPDATED TO INCLUDE STATE-OF-THE-ART EVIDENCE-BASED SURGICAL CARE AND LEADERSHIP GUIDANCE FOR TRAINEES AND PRACTICING SURGEONS A Doody's Core Title for 2017! The Tenth Edition of Schwartz's Principles of Surgery maintains the book's unmatched coverageof the foundations of surgery while bringing into sharper focus new and emerging technologies. We have entered a new era of surgery in which minimally invasive surgery, robotic surgery, and the use of computers and genomic information have improved the outcomes and quality of life for patients. With these advances in mind, all chapters have been updated with an emphasis on evidence-based, state-of-the-art surgical care. An exciting new chapter, "Fundamental Principles of Leadership Training in Surgery," expands the scope of the book beyond the operating room to encompass the actual development of surgeons. This edition is also enriched by an increased number of international chapter authors and a new chapter on Global Surgery. More than ever, Schwartz's Principles of Surgery is international in scope--a compendium of the knowledge and technique of the world's leading surgeons. Features More clinically relevant than ever, with emphasis on high-yield discussion of diagnosis and treatment of surgical disease, arranged by organ system and surgical specialty Content is supported by boxed key points, detailed anatomical figures, diagnostic and management algorithms, and key references Beautiful full-color design