Preprints are defined as “a scholarly manuscript posted by the author(s) in an openly accessible platform, usually before or in parallel with the peer review process” (Committee on Publication Ethics [COPE], 2018). They are a version of a scientific paper uploaded by the authors to a public server before it is published in a peer-review journal. The preprint contains complete data and methodologies. 

Benefits of Preprints:

• Increase openness and accessibility of scientific findings
• Increase the speed of dissemination of knowledge
• Enhance collaboration among researchers
• Facilitate proactive sharing
• Improve with feedback from the community.

You can locate preprints through the individual preprint servers that house the preprints, or by literature databases that cover them (the latter being an evolving landscape). This guide discusses many of these resources and search capabilities of each.

Preprint Servers

Discipline-Based Collections

Search this directory of discipline-based preprint servers. Selected health- and life science-related servers are listed below:

Multidisciplinary Collections and Search Tools

Preprint Coverage in Databases

Web of Science now includes a Preprint Citation Index in its collection of All Databases (start here).

PubMed now includes all preprints that acknowledge direct NIH support and/or have an NIH-affiliated author; and are posted to an eligible preprint server on January 1, 2023 or later. Search here.

Learn more about Preprints

• Preprints: Accelerating Research (Tutorial) (National Library of Medicine) 
• ASAPbio Preprint Resource Center
• How to post a preprint flowchart (2020)
• On the value of preprints: an early career researcher perspective (2019)
• Ten simple rules to consider regarding preprint submission (2017)

Preprint Licensing FAQ

Use the Preprint Licensing FAQ from ASAPbio to assist you with selecting a license for your preprint

SPARC Author Addendum

The SPARC Author Addendum is a legal instrument that modifies the publisher’s agreement and allows you to keep key rights to your articles. Want to include sections of one of your publications in your later works? Want to give copies to your class or distribute it among colleagues? Or want to place a copy on your Web page or in an online repository?  Under traditional publication agreement, all rights —including copyright — go to the journal. Use the Author Addendum to keep rights to your article.

Additional assistance is available to UVA Health System faculty, staff, and students. Just Ask Us - we are happy to provide help via email, Zoom, phone, or in-person.