The Health Sciences Library is open Monday-Friday, 8:00 AM- 5:00 PM (closed Saturday and Sunday), to anyone with a UVA Health ID. (Our large 24 hours space is open to anyone with a UVA Health ID when the library is open or closed.) On-site services are limited. A mask or face covering is required at all times and social distancing must be observed. The majority of Library staff continue to work remotely to provide services. For more information, please visit this page.
A collection of databases that contain high-quality, independent evidence to support healthcare decision making. Includes full-text access to the Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews, as well as the full-records from DARE, Health Technology Assessment Database (HTA), and NHS Economic Evaluation Database (NHS EED).
Provides access to over 28 million citations for the biomedical literature, covering biomedical research, clinical medicine, nursing, allied health, and health policy. Includes In-Process & Other Non-Indexed Citations.
Provides citations and selected full text for the top nursing and allied health literature available and covers a wide range of topics including nursing, biomedicine, alternative/complementary medicine, consumer health and 17 allied health disciplines.
Database covers the professional and academic literature in psychology and related disciplines such as medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, and linguistics. Updated monthly.
Over 85 leading medical textbooks, including among others, Harrison's Online, Current Medical Diagnosis & Treatment, Hurst's the Heart, Williams Obstetrics, Schwartz’s Principles of Surgery. Drug Monographs. Multimedia examination & procedural videos. Study Tools including Flash Cards and Review Questions
Unlimited simultaneous users.
This medical search engine works a little like Google. It includes medical and surgical reference books, access to journals/articles, procedural content and videos, point-of-care summaries, drug info, and access to MEDLINE. Includes images and videos too.
Helps identify the best available evidence by providing guides to the systematic consideration of the validity, importance, and applicability of claims about the assessment of health problems and the outcomes of health care. Includes the Users' Guide to the Medical Literature and the Rational Clinical Examination.
The Essential Guide for Patient Safety Officers by Michael Leonard; Joint Commission Resources, Inc Staff (Contribution by); Institute for Healthcare Improvement Staff (Contribution by)
Call Number: RA969.9 .E76 2013
Publication Date: 2013-01-01
Evidence-Based Practice in Nursing and Healthcare by Bernadette Melnyk; Ellen Fineout-Overholt
Full text (PDF) of most US dissertations from 1997 on, many earlier works and some from outside the US plus some master's theses. Also lists all dissertations and theses from 1861 on from US universities and some works from Europe and Asia from 1637 on. Abstracts included after July, 1980.