Researchers


Researchers

Datasets

UVA Clinical Datasets

TriNetX Live (UVA only)

TriNetX Live is a cloud-based platform that allows UVA researchers to explore de-identified patient cohort data. Because the health data is presented in aggregate without any patient identifiers, human subject ethics (IRB) approval is not needed in order to query health data through this interface. TriNetX Live makes it simple to build study criteria out to refine research design and assess protocol feasibility using real UVA Health Systems patient data. Click here to learn more about TriNetX and how to request an account.

UVA Clinical Data Repository (UVA only)

The Clinical Data Repository (CDR) is a data warehouse containing de-identified clinical and administrative information on over 1 million patient and 5 million clinical encounters at UVA prior to June 2017. It provides authorized researchers, clinicians, and students with direct access to detailed, flexible, and rapid retrospective views of de-identified clinical and financial patient data.

Finding Datasets

Selected Health Sciences Datasets

See this guide to selected health-related datasets, both freely available and through subscription by the UVA Library.

Additional Recommended Datasets

More data sources, grouped by subject areas including census and demography, economic and finance, education, media and communication, and more.

Dataset Search Engines and General Data Repositories

Finding Datasets Related to Publications

  • PubMed - perform your search then choose the Associated Data filter under the ARTICLE ATTRIBUTE header from the left menu. This will limit your search to citations with related data links in either the Secondary Source ID field or the LinkOut–Other Literature Resources field. You can also include the data filter search term in your original search, such zebrafish AND data[filter]. To get to the dataset, click on the citation title, then choose Associated Data from the right menu.
  • PubMed Central - use has associated data[filter] to find all articles with any type of data section described below (or choose one of the following:
  • Web of Science (UVA only) - perform a search on your topic and then choose Associated Data from the left Filter menu to refine your results

Genomics Data

Genomics Data

See our guide on discovering genomics datasets from NCBI and other sources

UVA Software

REDCap

The UVA Health System now has a REDCap instance. REDCap is a secure web application for building and managing online surveys and databases. REDCap can be used to collect virtually any type of data, including 21 CFR Part 11, FISMA, and HIPAA-compliant environments. To learn more or contact the REDCap group, click here: REDCap Database Development. Cap"

Qualtrics

UVA provides access to Qualtrics, a Web-based tool for creating online surveys. Qualtrics allows for robust survey composition with a multitude of question types, complex survey flow patterns, and the ability to complete NetBadge authenticated surveys. The Qualtrics Research Suite provides a separate portal for highly sensitive data (e.g. HIPAA-protected data types) as well as an interface for moderately sensitive data.

SPSS

UVA provides access to IBM SPSS Statistics for all faculty, staff, and students of UVA. Downloads are available for Windows and Mac. See this guide on UVA's SPSS from Research Data Services + Sciences for more on installing SPSS. Need help installing or downloading? Contact the Research Software Support team for assistance.

Multi-Schema Information Capture (MuSIC)

The Multi-Schema Information Capture (MuSIC) framework was created at UVA to allow rapid and flexible development of Web-based custom research databases for a variety of purposes. Research databases with a generic Web user interface can be developed rapidly within the MuSIC framework and then customized to yield an optimal online display. 

OnCore

The UVAHS Cancer Biomedical Informatics Group administers OnCore, a commercial Web application that coordinates the data collection and staff workflow across all UVA oncology clinical research teams.OnCore is used to create electronic case report forms (eCRFs) for oncology research. 

UVA Computing Environments

Ivy

Ivy is a secure computing environment for UVA researchers consisting of virtual machines (Linux and Windows), Domino Data Lab, and the Hadoop/Spark MapReduce environment. Researchers can use Ivy to process and store sensitive data with the confidence that the environment is secure and meets HIPAA requirements. Learn more - Research Computing - Ivy

Rivanna

Rivanna is UVA's High Performance Computing (HPC) system. As a centralized resource it has hundreds of pre-installed software packages available for computational research across many disciplines. Currently the Rivanna supercomputer has over 8,000 cores and 8PB of various storage. Learn more - Research Computing - Rivanna

UVA Box

UVA Box is a cloud-based storage and collaboration service that gives eligible members of the University community the ability to access, store, and share up to 1 TB of non-sensitive/moderately sensitive University files securely—anywhere, anytime, on any device. Read more - Information Technology Services

Health System Secure Cloud Storage

The UVA Health System's Information Technology (HIT) offers Secure Cloud Storage (SCS) to store, sync, and share data files for UVa Health System employees. The SCS solution consists of two distinct components that work together:

  • Dropbox provides the actual cloud storage space for your data and file sharing.
  • Sookasa is an integrated secure enhancement that is accessed as a folder within your Dropbox Account. Sookasa is a HIPAA-compliant and specifically designed for the storage of sensitive data such as Protected Health Information (PHI) and Personally Identifiable Information (PII).

Contact UVA Health Health Information Technology for more information

UVA Remote Apps

Use this service to run licensed software like Minitab, MATLAB, Rstudio, etc., remotely on your computer (replaces the UVA Hive). Read more from ITS about Remote Apps.

Skip to main content

Claude Moore Health Sciences Library
1350 Jefferson Park Avenue P.O. Box 800722
Charlottesville, VA 22908 (Directions)

facebook twitter instagram
© 2020 by the Rector and Visitors of the University of Virginia
Copyright & Privacy