Effective health communication encompasses Cultural Competence, Health Literacy, Ethics & Moral Distress, and Patient Safety. Search this site by keyword or category to find the resource you need.

Health Literacy


Culture, Communication, and Ethics in Healthcare

Private/Non-Profit/NGO

Private/Non-Profit/NGO

Advancing Effective Communication, Cultural Competence, and Patient-and-Family-Centered Care: A Roadmap for Hospitals A comprehensive guide to meeting the unique needs of patients
Alzheimer's Association

Information and resources for Alzheimer's and other dementias.

AMA Foundation Health Literacy Program

The American Medical Association comprehensive health literacy toolkit

AMA's Code of Medical Ethics Code of Medical Ethics
American Academy of Pediatrics (AAP)

Resources for the health, safety and well-being of infants, children, adolescents and young adults

American Hospital Association (AHA) National organization representing hospitals and health care networks. They provide information about health disparities, quality, patient safety, advocacy, and performance improvement.
American Medical Association National Association to support physicians and medical students
American Nurses Association National Association to support nurses and nursing students.
American Occupational Therapy Association

Provides support and advocacy for occupational therapists, assistant occupational therapists, and students. Advances OT practice, education, research.

American Physical Therapy Association

Provides support and advocacy for physical therapists, assistant physical therapists, and students. Advances PT practice, education, research.

American Speech-Language-Hearing Association

Provides support and advocacy for audiologists, speech-language pathologists, and speech, language and hearing scientists.

ANA Code of Ethics

Code of Nursing Ethics and link to ebook http://www.r2library.com.proxy01.its.virginia.edu/resource/title/1558105999 

 

 

Association of Professional Chaplains Provides advocacy and support for Chaplains, education, ethics, resources, standards of practice.
Caring Connections Supporting Advance Care Planning, palliative care, pain and symptom management, grief and bereavement. Advance Directives from all states.
Council for Social Work Education

Includes Centers for Gerontological (Geriatric) Education and Diversity

Diversity Rx Clearinghouse of information on how to meet the language and cultural needs of minorities, immigrants, refugees and other diverse populations.
Health Literacy and Patient Safety & Quality: Help Patients Understand Health Literacy Program Video
Herschel S. Horowitz Center for Health Literacy at the University of Maryland Maryland coalition to improve health outcomes through health literacy
Institute for Healthcare Improvement (IHI) Sponsors collaboratives that link healthcare organizations in projects focused on systems improvements in safety, effectiveness, patient-centeredness, timeliness, efficiency, and equity.
International Rescue Committee Charlottesville is one of 22 cites that provide support to refugees from 40 countries. Site contains information about refugee health and demographics.
Johns Hopkins Armstrong Institute for Patient Safety & Quality and Quality Provides training and education for patient safety and quality
Joint Commission Transitions of Care Portal Information from The Joint Commission enterprise and other healthcare organizations, related to the topic of transitions of care (the movement of patients between various health care settings).
Josie King Foundation The mission of the Josie King Foundation is to prevent patients from dying or being harmed by medical errors. Tools include a Care Journal for patients and nurses and resrouces related to patient safety.
Leapfrog Group Comprising public and private organziations representing more than 31 million health care beneficiaries, works with medical experts throughout the U.S. to identify problems and propose solutions that it believes will improve hospital systems that could break down and harm patients.
Low Health Literacy: You Can't Tell by Looking Health Literacy Program Video
MedWatch

FDA Medical Products Reporting and Safety Information Program with links to reporting forms, safety notifications, and sign-up for e-mail alerts.

NASW Code of Ethics Code of Social Work Ethics
National Association of Social Workers (NASW) National association to support social workers and social work students.
National Center for Cultural Competence Georgetown University Center programs to increase culturally and linguistically competent care.
National Center for Patient Safety & Quality (NCPS)

A unit of the Department of Veterans Affairs (VA), which oversees a comprehensive safety program aimed at reducing and preventing adverse medical events. Their Falls Tools (Quick Help)kit provides guidance on designing a falls prevention and management program and effective interventions and education strategies.

National Patient Safety & Quality Foundation (NPSF) Works to improve Patient Safety & Quality and reduce medical errors, providing information about current conferences and research, links to free educational materials and an extensive searchable bibliography
Nurses improving care for healthsystem elders Resources and patient information related to improving care of older adults in the hospital, clinic or emergency department.
Obesity Society The Obesity Society is the leading scientific society dedicated to the study of obesity. They offer education and resources.
Pfizer Clear Health Communication Source for Newest Vital Sign and other health literacy tools and information.
Quality Care for Diverse Populations The American Academy of Family Physicians page includes five video vignettes depicting simulated physician-patient encounters in an office setting as a means to explore ethnic and socio-cultural issues
Reach Out and Read English and Spanish information about helping children develop good reading skiils.
Rural Assistance Center Health and Human Services information for rural America
Teach-back method - Videos from UNC

Teach-back (or teachback) is the best method of confirming whether a learner understands information about the skills or knowledge taught.

The Cross Cultural Health Care Program Bridge between communities and health care institutions to advance access to quality health care that is culturally and linguistially appropriate.
The Hastings Center Nonpartisan research institution devoted to bioethics and the public interest
The Joint Commission (TJC) Evaluates and accredits nearly 16,000 health care organizations and programs in the US. They provide tools related to health literacy patient and family centered care, Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual & Transgenered community and patient safety.
UCSF Disability Statistics Center Statistics on the demographics and status of individuals with disability in America
UVa/Educational: Monograph on Cultural Competency Sheryl Heron, M.D., Antoine Kazzi, M.D., Marcus L. Martin, M.D., Editors: UVA School of Medicine
Vanderbilt University ICU Delirium and Cognitive Impairment Study Group Delirium and sedation resources and patient information.
Skip to main content

Claude Moore Health Sciences Library
1350 Jefferson Park Avenue P.O. Box 800722
Charlottesville, VA 22908 (Directions)

facebook twitter instagram
© 2020 by the Rector and Visitors of the University of Virginia
Copyright & Privacy