Effective health communication encompasses Cultural Competence, Health Literacy, Ethics & Moral Distress, and Patient Safety. Search this site by keyword or category to find the resource you need.

Health Literacy


Culture, Communication, and Ethics in Healthcare

Government Agencies

Government Agencies

AHRQ Innovations Exchange Innovative Patient Safety programs
CDC Clear Communication Index

A research-based tool to plan and assess public communication materials.

CDC Gateway to Health Communication & Social Marketing Practice Contains Audience Insights to analyze different target audiences for public health so that you can more effectively communicate with them to influence their behavior.
CDC's Health Literacy Website Self-assessments, background information on health literacy, steps to improve materials and links to resources about older adults and caregivers
CMS The Tools (Quick Help)kit for Making Written Materials Clear and Effective

A health literacy resource from the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services. The Tools (Quick Help)kit provides a set of Resources to help make written material in printed formats easier for people to read, understand, and use.

Communicating Risks and Benefits: An Evidence-Based User's Guide This guide provides scientific foundations for effective communication about risk
Department for Blind and Visually Impaired Provides services and other resources for those who are blind or visually impaired
Department for the Deaf and Hard of Hearing Provides services and other resouces for those who are deaf or hearing impaired
Health Disparities and Inequalities Report, United States (US), 2011 Examines disparities in social and health indicators
Health Literacy and Cultural Competency

This site includes patient resources, research information, and audio/video products from AHRQ

Health Literacy Universal Precautions Tools (Quick Help)kit University of North Carolina Toolkit to develop a comprehensive health literacy program.
Health Literacy: Accurate, Accessible and Actionable Health Information for All Self-assessments, background information on health literacy, steps to improve materials and links to resources about older adults and caregivers
Hospital Compare Medicare site with quality data about hospitals in English and Spanish. Includes a Guide to Choosing a Hospital
HRSA Health Literacy Free on-line course on Effective Communication Tools for Healthcare Professionals and links to other government agencies working to improve health literacy.
Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, Trasgendered Health Information related to the perspectives, health, social needs of LGBT people. Also data and statistics.
Lincs Literacy Information and Communication System National source for literacy - research, practice and resources.
M & M: Morbidity and Mortality Rounds on the Web Cases and Commentaries that related to patient safety and medical errors.
MEDLINE/PubMed Search and Health Literacy Information Resources

Health literacy search strategy and information resources compiled by the National Library of Medicine 

National Action Plan to Improve Health Literacy U.S. Department of Health and Human Services action plan to engage organization, professionals, policymakers, communities, individuals and families to improve health literacy.
National Center on Minority and Health Disparities (NCMHD) Leads scientific research to improve minority health and eliminate health disparities.
National Network of Libraries of Medicine Overview of health literacy concepts, techniques for improving health literacy, examples of best practice, and suggestions for addressing health literacy within an organization
National Standards on Culturally and Linguistically Appropriate Services (CLAS) The CLAS standards are directed at health care organizations and individual providers to encourage them to use the standards to make their practices more culturally and linguistically accessible.
Office for Human Research Protections Provides leadership in the protection of the rights, welfare and wellbeing of subjects involved in research.
OntheCUSPStopHAI.org Funded by the Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality (AHRQ), On the CUSP: Stop BSI was a national initiative to implement a proven culture change model, the Comprehensive Unit-based Safety Program (CUSP) and interventions to prevent central line-associated bloodstream infections (CLABSI).
PSNet: Patient Safety & Quality Network An annotated, carefully selected compilation of the most recent and important news, research, articles, Resources, and conferences in Patient Safety & Quality
The Health Care Law and You

This is an easy to understand update on the Affordable Care Act (ACA). The law that requires everyone to have health insurance.
 

The Office of Minority Health HHS office dedicated to improving the health of racial and ethnic minority populations.
Virginia Department of Health

Up-to-date information and resources about public health in Virginia including diseases, vaccinations, emergency preparedness, health equities

Skip to main content

Claude Moore Health Sciences Library
1350 Jefferson Park Avenue P.O. Box 800722
Charlottesville, VA 22908 (Directions)

facebook twitter instagram
© 2020 by the Rector and Visitors of the University of Virginia
Copyright & Privacy