March 2022: have you recently lost access to UVA literature databases? See this notice from University Libraries about the change.

UVA Library licensed online books, journals and databases allow offsite (remote) access only to current UVA faculty, students, and staff. However, UVA has subscribed to a collection of online resources specifically licensed for UVA graduates. Follow the instructions below to access these materials.

In the Library:

While in the Library you can use our collection of databases and online journals at our Health Information computers. You can also access the Library's collection of over 3,000 journal titles and 47,000 book titles in print and electronic formats. Borrowing privileges are available for books for Virginia residents. Library services such as reference assistance and Historical Collections access are also available; we suggest calling 434-924-5444 in advance so we can best assist you. Visit the About the Library page for directions and phone numbers.

While Off-Grounds:

Resources For UVa Alumni

Graduates of UVa degree programs have access to selected research resources provided by UVa Office of Engagement and the University Library. Use the Free Online Research Library for Alumni to access these resources:

• CINAHL - The Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature offers index coverage of journals in nursing , biomedicine, alternative/complementary medicine, consumer health, and 17 allied health disciplines.
• Health Library - provides health and wellness information including consumer health; illustrations, animations, video, and images; and alternative medicine.
• Academic Search Alumni Edition - includes the full-text for more than 3,350 journals in the fields of biology, chemistry, engineering, physicians, psychology, and religion and theology.
• Business Source Alumni Edition - provides access to nearly 1,450 full-text business magazines and journals.
• Business Book Summaries - provides comprehensive summaries of more than 700 business books.

For more information on these resources see the University Library's Alumni Services page

Online Finding Tools for Health Information

These free, online resources represent sources of quality medical information.

• Centers for Disease Control and Prevention
• ClinicalTrials.gov
• Food and Drug Administration
• MEDLINE - via NLM's PubMed
• Virginia Health Statistics

Several major biomedical publishers now offer open access to full-text journal articles; if a free version is not available, use a document supplier listed.

• BioMed Central
• Document Suppliers - provides full-text journal articles for a fee
• Free Medical Journals
• Highwire Press
• National Academies Press - includes Institute of Medicine reports
• Public Library of Science: Medicine
• PubMedCentral (from April 7, 2008 forward, all articles funded by NIH must be deposited here within 12 months of publication)

Health Resources for Your Patients

The Web is frequently used by patients as a source of health information. Help direct them to these quality sites.

• Consumer Health Resources - selected by Health Sciences Library staff
• Genetics Home Reference
• MEDLINEPlus
• UVa Health includes links to UVa physicians and services

Other Health Sciences Libraries

Many academic health sciences libraries offer access to local area health professionals. To connect with a medical library in your region, contact the National Network of Libraries of Medicine at 1-800-338-7657.

Additional assistance is available to UVA Health System faculty, staff, and students. Just Ask Us- we are happy to provide help via email, phone, or in-person.