Date: Tuesday, November 11, 2025
Time: 11:00 AM - 1:00 PM
Location: Dining Conference Rooms, UVA Medical Center Lobby

Join the Claude Moore Health Sciences Library staff at our clinical support expo! Whether you're a resident, attending, fellow, nurse, support staff member, student, faculty member, or just curious about what we offer, this event is perfect for you.

What’s in Store:

• Meet Our Team: Connect with our friendly library staff and learn about the valuable services and resources we offer.
• View Artifacts on Display: Come see medical artifacts courtesy of our Historical Collections and Services department.   
• Enjoy Snacks and Swag: We will have a variety of snacks and HSL branded swag for everyone!
• Play Games: Test your knowledge with medical trivia and your skills with Operation. 
• Participate in Our Raffle: Enter our drawing and win a fantastic prize bag!

We’re excited to showcase the many ways our library can support UVA Health’s clinical mission. Don’t miss this opportunity to learn, connect, and have fun!

For more information, please contact Lewis Savarese, Collection Development Librarian, at LMS9QW@virginia.edu 

We look forward to seeing you there!

Thursday, October 23rd | Health Sciences Library

Get ready for a day of discovery, free food, and fascinating conversations. The Health Sciences Library is celebrating open access, and you're invited! Whether you're a research rookie or a publishing pro, there’s something for everyone.

Free Boxed Lunch for the first 50 folks who register with their ORCID iD!

Registration link: https://cal.hsl.virginia.edu/event/15417203.
 

Morning Lineup: Learn & Lunch

11:00–11:45am
Open and Shut: Open Access and Artificial Intelligence
Kiowa Hammons, Director of Copyright and Scholarly Communication Services
Explore how open access principles hold up in the age of AI and massive data aggregation. 

11:45am
Lunch Break!
Grab your boxed lunch and mingle with fellow open access enthusiasts.

12:00–12:30pm
Pathways to NIH Public Access for Your Articles
Andrea Denton & Ryan Hedrick, Health Sciences Library
Navigate the new NIH Public Access Policy like a pro and learn how it connects to open access.

Afternoon Lineup: Persistent IDs & Publishing Power

12:30–1:15pm
It’s All Connected: Persistent Identifiers and Why They Matter
Hope Shinn, Scholarly Repository Librarian
Demystifying DOIs, ORCID iDs, and other PIDs.

Aperio and the Diamond OA Model
Dave Ghamandi, Open Publishing Librarian
Discover UVA’s own open access press and the diamond model that makes it shine.

Open Access Indexing
Winston Barham, Open Access Librarian
Get the scoop on indexing for OA journals and how UVA supports your publishing journey.

1:30–2:30pm: Research Resource Fair

Location: Link Hallway outside the Health Sciences Library

Meet the teams that power research at UVA! Tables include:

• Center for Open Science
• Clinical Trials Unit
• Health Sciences Library
• Public Health Sciences
• Research Computing
• School of Medicine Offices (Grants & Contracts, Core Admin)
• University Libraries
• Office of the Vice President for Research/ Office of Sponsored Programs
• Office of Graduate and Postdoctoral Affairs
• UVA Licensing and Ventures Group

Come for the knowledge, stay for the lunch, and leave with new connections and insights. See you there!

We’re thrilled to introduce our new Research and Data Services Librarian, Ryan Hedrick. Ryan has a Master of Library Science from Indiana University Bloomington and a Bachelor of Arts in Communication Studies from the University of North Carolina at Charlotte. Before starting his library career, Ryan worked as a newspaper journalist for The Daily Dispatch in Henderson, NC. After receiving his Masters, Ryan took a position as the Data Management Librarian at the University of Texas at Arlington. While at UTA he worked on a number of projects, including the creation of a new institutional repository, as well as helping establish the Day Family Research Lab, a research hub focused on supporting researchers through every aspect of the research lifecycle. In his spare time, Ryan enjoys reading, playing video games, and hiking. 
 

We’re delighted to have Ryan on board as he works to enable researchers to better understand the changing landscape of scholarly communication, especially new public access policies and funder requirements.
 

You can reach out to Ryan at wqd5ts@virginia.edu
 

HSL is pleased to announce the addition of two new resources to our digital collection: The Medical Letter and STAT Plus!

The Medical Letter

a peer-reviewed biweekly medical journal providing evaluations of pharmaceutical drugs. The online platform includes access to the Drugs of Choice Handbooks, comparison charts, and CME. 

An introduction to the resource is available here. 

STAT Plus

Subscription-based journalism service by STAT that provides in-depth reporting and analysis on biotech, pharma, life sciences, health tech, policy, and the healthcare industry. Includes access to all STAT news content plus subscriber-only newsletters, email alerts, and premium tools.

Access to STAT Plus requires an @virginia.edu OR @uvahealth.org email address to create an account; accounts are available to UVA faculty, staff, and students.

To access for the first time, proceed to https://proxy1.library.virginia.edu/login?url=http://www.statnews.com/register

Fill out the form with your UVA email address, a password of your choice, and your industry (dropdown menu).

An introduction to the resource is available here. 

If you have any questions, please reach out to Lewis Savarese, Electronic Resources Librarian, at LMS9QW@virginia.edu 

Date: Wednesday, September 3, 2025
Time: 12:00 PM - 2:00 PM
Location: UVA Claude Moore Health Sciences Library

Get ready for a day of discovery and fun at our annual Open House! Whether you're a student, clinician, support staff, faculty member, or just curious about what we offer, this event is perfect for you.

What’s in Store:

• Meet Our Team: Connect with our friendly library staff and learn about the valuable services and resources we offer.
• Explore UVA Groups and Departments: Find out about the various student organizations and departmental resources available to enhance your academic journey.
• Celebrate the Claude Moore Health Sciences Library’s 50^th Anniversary: Join us in celebrating 50 years of the Health Sciences Library. There will be cake!
• Enjoy Free Treats: We will have pizza, candy, and swag! Because who doesn’t love free goodies?
• Participate in Our Scavenger Hunt: Visit each library table to enter our drawing and win a fantastic prize!

We’re excited to showcase the many ways our library and affiliated groups can support your academic and professional growth. Don’t miss this opportunity to learn, connect, and have fun!

For more information, please contact Tricia Roche, Access Services Manager, at pc3rc@virginia.edu.

We look forward to seeing you there!

We are excited to announce that four new rooms (1312, 1308, 1306, 1209) for group study or meetings are now available on the first floor of the Health Sciences Library. These rooms are provided for collaborative work, making them perfect for group projects, study sessions, or meetings. They can be reserved by anyone affiliated with UVA Health using our self-reservation system.  (Click on this link to access the self-reservation system: http://vmed.resourcescheduler.net/ResourceScheduler/schedule.asp?Topic=RES&TopicId=172&CDate=2025-1-31)

At the moment, they do not have any technology setup. However, members of the library IT team are actively working on equipping them with state-of-the-art technology, similar to what you find in the SOM classrooms. By the end of September, we hope to have the rooms fully outfitted with the necessary tech to support your needs.

If you have any questions or need assistance with the reservations, please don't hesitate to reach out.  (Click on this link to contact the Health Sciences Library: https://guides.hsl.virginia.edu/consultation-request.)  We're here to help and ensure you have the best experience possible while using these new spaces.

Join us on April 24th and 29th, 3:30pm to 4:45pm, as the School of Architecture students present their final redesigns for the 2nd floor spaces of the Claude Moore Health Sciences Library. The students have generated two options per space and will be presenting over two days in the link hallway in front of HSL. Their presentations will consist of computer renderings, physical models, and posters. 

Presentations on April 24th:

The lobby

The 24 hour space - frontmost large open area 

Presentations on April 29th: 

The 24 hour space - middle area with HIT computers

The 24 hour space - backmost area

HSL and the School of Architecture students will be soliciting library user feedback via in-person Q&A. We encourage library users to drop-in any time between 3:30pm and 4:45pm on April 24th and 29th.

If you have any questions or cannot attend either event, please email Kyle Bowman, Administrative Manager, KLB9U@virginia.edu.
 

HSL is pleased to announce the addition of two new resources to our digital collection: Red Book Online and Trip Pro Medical Database! 

Red Book Online

The latest clinical guidance on the manifestations, etiology, epidemiology, diagnosis, and treatment of more than 200 childhood infectious diseases. The AAP Red Book is published every three years, but the pediatric infectious disease landscape is changing continuously. Red Book Online is consistently updated with the latest recommendations from the AAP.

Link to the resource: https://proxy1.library.virginia.edu/login?url=https://publications.aap.org/redbook

Product overview: https://publications.aap.org/pages/product-overview-videos?autologincheck=redirected&videoId=6310281099112 

Trip Pro Medical Database

The Trip Pro Medical Database is a clinical search engine designed to allow users to quickly and easily find and use high-quality research evidence to support their practice and/or care.

Link to the resource: https://proxy1.library.virginia.edu/login?url=https://www.tripdatabase.com/

Introductory and training videos: https://www.youtube.com/c/TripDatabaseVideos

If you have any questions, please reach out to Lewis Savarese, Electronic Resources Librarian, at LMS9QW@virginia.edu

 

Join us on April 8th and 10th, 3:30pm to 4:45pm, as the School of Architecture students present their redesigns for the 2nd floor spaces of the Claude Moore Health Sciences Library. The students have generated two options per space and will be presenting over two days in the respective spaces.

The 2nd floor of the library will be divided into the following 4 spaces:

1.    The lobby

2.    The 24 hour space - frontmost large open area 

3.    The 24 hour space - middle area with HIT computers

4.    The 24 hour space - backmost area

HSL and the School of Architecture students will be soliciting library user feedback via in-person Q&A. We encourage library users to drop-in any time between 3:30pm and 4:45pm on April 8th and 10th.

Snacks will be provided by HSL.

If you have any questions or cannot attend either event, please email Kyle Bowman, Administrative Manager, KLB9U@virginia.edu.
 

On March 18th, the Health Sciences Library hosted thirty-five students from the University of Virginia Architecture School. Under the guidance of their course instructors, these students will be developing design plans to assist in the space planning efforts at the Health Sciences Library.  The event included a presentation of space planning survey results over the past year and a tour of the library's 2nd floor space, which is the scope of the project. Plenty of food and refreshments were available to show the library's appreciation for the students.

On April 8th and 10th, the students will showcase their original drawings at the Health Sciences Library.  This event will provide library patrons the opportunity to provide feedback.  The final drawings will be presented on Aprill 24th and 29th.  These final drawings, along with the insights gained from patron feedback, will play an important role in guiding the library's strategic planning team's decisions regarding space utilization at the Health Sciences Library.

Pictured below are the Architecture students, their course instructor, Dr. Elgin Cleckley, Kyle Bowman, HSL Administration Manager and chair of the HSL Strategic Planning Space Arc, and Tricia Roche, HSL Access Services Manager and the event organizer.