Creating Your Bibliographies

Below are instructions for using Zotero to create your bibliographies and include links within (e.g. a link to the DOI of an article).

• Annotated Bibliography: Save citations in Zotero and export, then add annotations in Word
• Annotated Bibliography: Save citations in Zotero, add annotations in Zotero, then export your Annotated Bibliography in APA 7 Annotated Bibliography style
• Bibliography for your Paper: use APA Style, or, use the Elsevier-Vancouver style with some workarounds

Option One: Create an Annotated Bibliography (add annotations in Word)

Follow the steps below to choose a style and export your bibliography:

1. Configure Zotero to include links in your references:
   1. Click on Edit, then Settings, Cite, then check the box next to "Include URLs of paper articles in references":
      
       
2. You can use different styles to generate your bibliography EXCEPT the default Vancouver. Use Elsevier-Vancouver instead:
   1. Get the correct citation style ("Elsevier-Vancouver") in Zotero. 
      1. Open Zotero (note these instructions are for the latest version 7.0)
      2. Click on Edit, then Settings, then Cite
      3. Click on Get additional Styles... from the bottom of the window:
         
         
          
      4. In the Style Search box, type Vancouver. Below, a list of Vancouver-related styles will appear. Click on Elsevier-Vancouver:
         
          
      5. This style should now be loaded into your Zotero for you to select when you are working on a bibliography or in your paper.
      6. You can also choose APA 7th edition or National Library of Medicine as styles.
          
3. Create your bibliography
   1. Select the citations you would like in the center pane of Zotero by clicking the first reference, then hold down the shift key and click the last reference
   2. Right-click and choose Create bibliography from items
      
       
   3. Choose the style you would like from the Citation Style list. Make sure to choose Output Mode Bibliography.
   4. Choose your Output Method. I use Copy to Clipboard and then paste into Word.

Option Two - How to Create an Annotated Bibliography using APA Style in Zotero

Zotero has a style that allows you to create your annotations inside Zotero, in the "Extra" field. These are then output along with the citation information when you use the "American Psychological Association (APA) 7th edition (annotated bibliography)" style.

How To: follow all steps below

1. Get the correct citation style ("American Psychological Association (APA) 7th edition (annotated bibliography) in Zotero. To do so:
   1. Open Zotero
   2. Click on Edit, then Settings, Cite
   3. Click on Get additional Styles... from the bottom of the window:
      
       
   4. In the Style Search box, type APA. Below, a list of APA styles will appear. Click on American Psychological Association 7th edition (annotated bibliography):
      
       
   5. This style should now be loaded into your Zotero.
       
2. Now, from your Zotero list of citations, make sure you have the "Item Pane" view enabled
   1. in your Zotero Desktop, go to View, Layout, and then check Item Pane. This will enable you to see all the fields for each citation (e.g. title, author, etc.) in a window at the right side of the screen. This will be important in Step 4.
      
      
3. One more step: configure Zotero to include links in your references:
   1. Click on Edit, then Preferences, Cite, then check the box next to "Include URLs of paper articles in references":
      
       
4. Write your annotations
   1. In Zotero, select each reference by clicking on the citation of interest in the center pane
   2. In the right-hand pane, scroll down until you see the Extra field:
      
   3. Delete what is already in the "Extra" field. Note that you may want to keep information like the PMID to easily find the article later - you can copy and paste it into the Library Catalog field.
   4. Continue this process, selecting each article in the center pane and writing your annotations in the Extra field in the right-hand pane.
5. Create your bibliography
   1. When you are ready to create your bibliography, select each of the citations you want to include in the center pane, using shift-click or control-click to select more than one at a time.
   2. Right-click on the group of citations and choose Create Bibliography from Items...
      
       
6. Choose American Psychological Association (APA) 7th edition (annotated bibliography) from the list of Citation Styles. I choose Copy to Clipboard for the Output Method. Click on OK.
7. Open Word and click Edit, then Paste. Your annotated bibliography should appear, with your annotations beneath each citation. You may need to add spacing between your entries.
   

Creating a Bibliography in Vancouver Style with Clickable (e.g. hyperlinked) DOIs

STEP ONE: Get the Elsevier-Vancouver style

1.  Use Elsevier-Vancouver instead of the default Vancouver style. This style includes the DOIs as part of the citation.
2. To get the correct citation style (Elsevier-Vancouver) in Zotero:
   1. Open Zotero (note these instructions are for the latest version 7.0)
   2. Click on Edit, then Settings, then Cite
   3. Click on Get additional Styles... from the bottom of the window:
      
      
       
   4. In the Style Search box, type Vancouver. Below, a list of Vancouver-related styles will appear. Click on Elsevier-Vancouver:
      
       
   5. This style should now be loaded into your Zotero for you to select when you are working on a bibliography or on your paper

STEP TWO: Configure Word to hyperlink the DOIs

When you use Zotero to insert citations and create the bibliography for your paper, the result almost meets your assignment requirements. A final step is to make all the links (e.g. the links to DOIs) clickable. This is a final, final step you'll do this in Word.

1. IMPORTANT: save a copy of your paper first! THIS PROCESS WILL REMOVE your links to Zotero! 
2. In Word, right-click on the blank area in the far right of the Quick Access Toolbar (aka the Ribbon) and choose Customize the Ribbon:
   
    
3. Click on New Group:
   
    
4. From the upper left, choose "Commands Not in the Ribbon":
   
    
5. Scroll down to AutoFormat..., then click Add>>, then OK.
   
    
6. You'll now see AutoFormat in your Word Quick Access Toolbar.
7. Now remove the Zotero links in your paper. DID YOU MAKE A COPY FIRST??? From the Word menu, click Zotero, then Unlink Citations. Click OK after you read the warning.
   1. You should now see an AutoFormat button in your Word menu.
8. AGAIN, MAKE SURE YOU ARE WORKING ON A COPY.
9. In your Word document, highlight the references at the end of your paper (e.g. your bibliography).
10. Click on Home in Word, and from the menu, click on AutoFormat
11. Click on Options and make sure internet and network paths with hyperlinks is checked.
12. Click on OK.
13. Click on OK to format your paper. You can choose to AutoFormat now, or to AutoFormat and Review each Change (so you can pick and choose changes it makes, e.g. making your title a different size).
    
     
14. Your DOIs will now be hyperlinked.
    
     
15. Save this document as a final copy.