EndNote has a feature to help you automatically retrieve full-text PDFs for the references in your Library. While this option may not find all the PDFs available to you, it is a good start. By adding an OpenURL link under Preferences…” you can configure EndNote to “Find Full Text” available through UVa Library subscriptions. Note: you must be a current UVa faculty, staff or student for this feature to work.
Step by Step
Open EndNote and go to Edit ->Preferences
Under Find Full Text, check the box next to OpenURL and enter http://re5qy4sb7x.search.serialssolutions.com/ in OpenURL Path (see below).
Under Authenticate with, add https://proxy1.library.virginia.edu/login?url=(see below)
Click on OK.
Finding Full Text
Once the URL is added, after selecting the references for which you want to find full text, go References -> Find Full Text -> Find Full Text… This process will find and attach available PDFs to the references in your Library.
Note: This feature may not be able to find all UVa-subscribed full texts.
To Manually Find and Add PDFs to EndNote References:
Do a search in PubMed using the title or the author’s name. Or, if there is already a URL inserted in your reference, click it to go into PubMed or other citation database. Then, click to get to the full text by clicking the publisher’s icon, or the Find@UVa button.
If there is full text available, save the PDF in the designated folder of your choice. Name the file using the title, journal title, author’s name or date so the file name is meaningful to you.
Open the reference in question. Drag and drop the PDF file that you just saved.
The PDF will appear in the “File Attachment” section in the reference.
Additional assistance is available to UVA Health System faculty, staff, and students. Just Ask Us- we are happy to provide help via email, phone, or in-person.