This guide covers resources to support open science, including practices for better transparency and reproducibility in biomedical research. It addresses:
Pre-registration is the process of describing a research question and analysis plan before observing the research outcomes (1). Specifically, this can entail writing out specific details such as data collection methods, analysis plans, and rules for data exclusion (2). The goal with pre-registration is to reduce practices related to publication bias such as HARKing (Hypothesizing After the Results are Known), “p-hacking” (manipulating data analyses in order to obtain significant effects, and the tendency to publish only positive or novel results.
Pre-registering Systematic Reviews
PROSPERO is an international database of prospectively registered reviews in health and social care. PROSPERO allows registration of systematic reviews, rapid reviews and umbrella reviews, but not scoping reviews or literature scans. Reviews should be registered at the protocol stage. Sharing topics and methods can allow comparison of reviews, transparency about methods, and help avoid duplication with future reviews.
Pre-registering Clinical Research
Clinical trial registration "is the practice of documenting clinical trials before they are performed in a clinical trials registry so as to combat publication bias and selective reporting" (4).
Clinicaltrials.gov is the largest database of clinical trials, hosting descriptions and results from privately and publicly funded clinical studies. Many funders and publishers require registration of clinical trials.
General Pre-Registration Tools and Databases
Research studies of all types can be pre-registered using the tools below:
1. Nosek BA, Ebersole CR, DeHaven AC, Mellor DT. The preregistration revolution. Proc Natl Acad Sci U S A. 2018 Mar 13;115(11):2600-2606. doi: 10.1073/pnas.1708274114. PMID: 29531091; PMCID: PMC5856500.
2. Standin E. 2019. Open science, pre-registration and striving for better research practices. American Psychological Association:Psychological Science Agenda | November 2019
3. Gonzales JE, Cunningham CA. 2015. The promise of pre-registration in psychological research. American Psychological Association: Psychological Science Agenda | August 2015.
4. Wikipedia. Preregistration (Science): Clinical trial registration
Registered Reports represent a change to the traditional publishing paradigm. Publishing a Registered Report involves submitting a research protocol to the journal before experiments are conducted. Protocols are reviewed, and once accepted, the journal commits to publishing the outcomes. This commitment to publishing helps to avoid cherry-picking results and foster sharing of all types of outcomes, even negative results.
The process often involves several steps, including:
Like pre-registration, Registered Reports supports research transparency and can prevent publication bias and address questionable research practices like p-hacking and HARKing.
Registered Reports Tools
Center for Open Science | Open Science Framework Registered Reports - create a Registered Report (typically done after you receive an IPA)
Sample Registered Reports:
Plos ONE Registered Report Protocols
Sample protocol: Text messaging as a tool to improve cancer screening programs (M-TICS Study): A randomized controlled trial protocol
Nature Human Behavior Registered Reports
Sample report: Dissociating memory accessibility and precision in forgetting (sample of collection of materials that might accompany a registered report)
Chambers C. What's next for Registered Reports? Nature. 2019 Sep;573(7773):187-189. doi: 10.1038/d41586-019-02674-6. PMID: 31506624.
Smith GD, Penny KI. Enhancing research integrity in academic nursing: The introduction of registered reports. J Clin Nurs. 2019 Apr;28(7-8):1037-1038. doi: 10.1111/jocn.14770. Epub 2019 Feb 8. PMID: 30618059.
Journal of Clinical Nursing (JCN) submission guidelines
Gray R, Thompson DR, Tong Chien W, Jones M, Jones A, Moyo N, Waters A, Brown E. Why has the Journal of Psychiatric and Mental Health Nursing stopped publishing registered reports? J Psychiatr Ment Health Nurs. 2020 Dec 18. doi: 10.1111/jpm.12721. Epub ahead of print. PMID: 33336865. Notes the discontinuation by the editorial team. The team responds that the primary reasons for closing registered reports are the lack of these papers submitted to the journal and subsequently the lack of good quality reports published.
Preprints are defined as “a scholarly manuscript posted by the author(s) in an openly accessible platform, usually before or in parallel with the peer review process” (Committee on Publication Ethics [COPE], 2018). They are a version of a scientific paper uploaded by the authors to a public server before it is published in a peer-review journal. The preprint contains complete data and methodologies.
Benefits of Preprints:
Preprint Servers and Repositories
medicine and health sciences
physics, quantitative biology, statistics, mathematics, and other similar fields
Multidisciplinary Collections and Search Tools
search for biomedical preprints
search or browse over 2 million preprints
Learn more about Preprints
Utilizing common practices to manage your research data will help your own workflow and also meet requirements for data management, such as the upcoming 2023 NIH Data Management and Sharing Policy.
See our guide on Research Data Management for practical tips, tricks, and resources.
There are many benefits to employing reproducible practices around your software- and computing-related research processes. They include:
Practices don't have to be overly complicated. You can:
NIH suggests "applicants proposing to use cell lines could describe the method they plan to use to verify the identity and purity of the lines, which might include short tandem repeat (STR) profiling and mycoplasma testing." Below are some resources for writing an authentication plan and procedures for authenticating cell lines.
Guidelines and Resources from Professional Organizations
Specific for Non-Human Cell Lines
Unique IDs for your Antibodies, Model Organisms, and Tools
Checklists and Validation Methods
Resources from Manufacturers
The following resources and guidelines are for researchers who acquire images and use software image like Photoshop.
Read more about rigor and reproducibility
Barriers to replicating cancer biology research: challenges or opportunities? (slides from Tim Errington, Center for Open Science (Cancer Biology Reproducibility Project)
Interested in supporting reproducibility in biomedical research? Here are some ways you can get started (thanks to Tim Errington, Center for Open Science):
Test yourself - take the PLOS Reproducibility Assessment and consider their recommendations such as:
Want to learn more? Watch the webinar "A Guide to Supporting Early Career Researchers in Open Science". Some take-home messages from early-career researchers:
Prepare to meet requirements in January 2023 to submit a Data Management and Sharing Plan with your NIH grant proposal.
DMPTool: Web-based tool that provides a template and guidance for creating your plan.
Additional assistance is available to UVA Health System faculty, staff, and students. Just Ask Us - we are happy to provide help via email, Zoom, phone, or in-person.
Claude Moore Health Sciences Library 1350 Jefferson Park Avenue P.O. Box 800722 Charlottesville, VA 22908 (Directions)
© 2023 by the Rector and Visitors of the University of Virginia
Copyright & Privacy