Researchers

Publication Services

Data

Data and Statistical Support

These data and research computing consultants provide free, basic consulting services for researchers at UVA Health, including research staff, clinical staff (residents, nurses, clinicians), and students (medical, nursing, BIMS).

Name Contact Description Topics
HSL Research & Data Services By appointment: Ask Us One-on-one consultations on data preparation, analysis and statistics, and creating publication-ready visualizations.  R, Python, GraphPad Prism, SPSS, Qualtrics, Stata, statistics, visualization
PHS @the Library Walk-in, Zoom Office hours, or by appointment

Consultation service to address introductory questions about research methods and basic statistics. See the coverage hours

SAS, SPSS, biostatistics, power, experimental design
Research Concierge Visit the iTHRIV Portal, login, and click Submit a Request

Expert guidance on feasibility assessments, research proposal development, research design, methodologies, data analysis, and other critical aspects. Learn more.

IRB, OnCore, TriNETX, CRConnect, feasibility analysis, protocols, multi-center studies
REDCap Team Office Hours Thursdays 9 am - 12 pm - sign up here Consultations, demos, and build guidance via appointment or during virtual office hours. The team also offers dedicated development and custom programming at a full-service cost. REDCap (secure web application for building and managing online surveys and databases for clinical research)
Research Data Capture Read more here or Request a Consult Assistance with clinical research projects, including feasibility questions, user account assistance, project design, advanced feature development, user rights, data import/export, eCRFs, API, etc. Electronic case report forms (eCRFs)
Research Computing Office hours Tue and Thu via Zoom, or, Request a Consultation Assistance with conceptualizing and executing computation-intensive projects. Guidance about UVA's high performance computing environments (Rivanna and HIPAA-compliant Ivy); Learn more at rc.virginia.edu, including workshop opportunities Rivanna, Ivy, python, Fiji/imageJ, UNIX, bioinformatics, machine learning, visualization 

Additional Data Services - Health System

Health System Analytics & Reporting

A full range of tools and services to meet your clinical data needs, including Clinical Data Repository (CDR) support, dashboard development, integration of project data and data from existing systems (e.g. Epic), data modeling, patient registries, business intelligence.

PHS Consulting and Collaboration Support

Need more research assistance? The UVA PHS provides fee-based Consulting & Collaboration Support to assist researchers with study design, data analysis, statistical graphics, outcomes and comparative effectiveness research, data base development and management and other multidisciplinary analytical services, such as evaluation methods, surveys and community engagement strategies. Charges are on an hourly rate basis. 

UVA Bioinformatics Core

The Bioinformatics Core in the School of Medicine provides expert and timely bioinformatics consulting and data analysis solutions to UVa and non-UVa investigators on both grant-funded and chargeback based projects for management and analysis of large-scale biological datasets produced by high-throughput genomics experiments.

Data Services Across Grounds

UVA Data Analytics Center

Provides comprehensive computational solutions for your projects, from selecting the right software and computing platforms, to creating new platform configurations to meet your needs. Expertise to assist with your next data-intensive research project, including image processing, bioinformatics, or artificial intelligence. Submit a support or consultation request.

UVA Library Research Data Services + Sciences

UVA Library's consultation services housed at the Brown Science and Engineering Library, including the StatLab (data analysis and statistics), research software, data management, and data discovery. Office hours each semester, or by appointment. See their wide variety of data-related workshops.

ITS Storage, Hosting, and Servers

UVA Information Technology Services (ITS) provides information on storage, including options for large files, images, videos and critical data. in addition, they provide guidance and resources for databases, physical and virtual servers, and backup.

University Information Security

University Information Security (InfoSec) provides information security consultation, guidance, and investigative support to the UVA community.

Skip to Main Content

Claude Moore Health Sciences Library
1350 Jefferson Park Avenue P.O. Box 800722
Charlottesville, VA 22908 (Directions)

facebook twitter instagram
© 2024 by the Rector and Visitors of the University of Virginia
Copyright & Privacy