Historical Collections

Historical Collections

Policies

Policies for Researchers

  • Making an appointment for an in-depth interview with the Curator for Historical Collections and Services is strongly encouraged before undertaking a research project.
  • Researchers will sign the "Register of Visitors."
  • As many of the materials in Historical Collections are unique, irreplaceable, and often fragile, they will be treated with extreme care.
  • Historical Collections staff must be physically present whenever Historical Collections materials are used.
  • Only pencils or laptop computers may be used for taking notes.
  • Personal belongings, e.g. backpacks and pocketbooks, will be stored in lockers.
  • No food or beverages will be permitted.
  • All materials in Historical Collections are non-circulating.
  • Historical Collections materials are available to all researchers on equal terms of access.
  • Historical Collections staff will do all photocopying from Historical Collections materials; a researcher's request for photocopying may be denied if the item is too fragile.
  • All requests for images from Historical Collections materials will be handled by Historical Collections staff. Researchers may seek permission from Historical Collections staff to photograph materials themselves. However, there photography restrictions on some of the materials in the collection and staff reserve the right to deny permission.
  • Researchers, prior to publishing, are responsible for obtaining the necessary publication rights and/or copyright clearances.
  • The filing order for manuscript or archival materials will be maintained. Any disarrangement of collections (or pages missing from books or journals) will be reported to Historical Collections staff.
  • The Historical Collections and Services Department at UVA's Claude Moore Health Sciences Library should be properly credited whenever materials from its collections are cited.

Copyright & Permissions

Digital collections and online exhibits created by Historical Collections & Services staff of the Claude Moore Health Sciences Library are designed for private study, scholarship, and research. The Claude Moore Health Sciences Library claims only physical ownership over much of the material in its historical collections.

Persons wishing to publish material from our online exhibits and digital collections must assume all responsibility for identifying and satisfying any claimants of copyright. Anyone who wishes to reproduce or publish material from our digital collections and exhibits must ensure that the use of this material is in compliance with the U.S. Copyright law (Title 17, United States Code). For more information on copyright or how to initiate a copyright search, please contact the U.S. Copyright Office at 1-877-476-0778 (toll free) or visit their Web site at http://www.loc.gov/copyright/.

The Claude Moore Health Sciences Library does not charge access or permission fees for use of material found in digital collections and online exhibits created by Historical Collections & Services staff. We do request, however, that published images include the credit line "Courtesy of Historical Collections & Services, Claude Moore Health Sciences Library, University of Virginia."

For further information about the use of materials in digital collections and online exhibits created by Historical Collections staff, please contact Dan Cavanaugh, Alvin V. and Nancy Baird Curator of Historical Collections, Claude Moore Health Sciences Library at 434-924-0052 or dmc7be@virginia.edu.

Research Service by Historical Collections Staff

When research time exceeds more than 30 minutes of staff time, your research inquiry exceeds the scope of the reference service that the staff of Historical Collections are able to provide and still maintain essential services to students, faculty, and staff of the University of Virginia.

Our holdings of rare book titles and manuscript collections are accessible for searching through the University of Virginia Library's online catalog, VIRGO. Additionally, through the Virginia Heritage database, there are searchable guides to many of our manuscript collections.

If you are unable to visit Historical Collections to view materials and have a time-intensive reference request, please consult the list of independent researchers in the Charlottesville area who may be employed to do in-depth research. This list is maintained by the UVA Albert and Shirley Small Special Collections Library.

Skip to main content

Claude Moore Health Sciences Library
1350 Jefferson Park Avenue, 22903
P.O. Box 800722
Charlottesville, VA 22908 (Directions)

facebook twitter instagram
© 2018 by the Rector and Visitors of the University of Virginia
Copyright & Privacy