Historical Collections

Historical Collections Staff

Curator and Department Head

Meggan Cashwell currently serves as the curator and manager of Historical Collections at the Claude Moore Health Sciences Library. With a wealth of archival experience spanning over seven years, Meggan brings a rich background in special collections to her role. Prior to joining the Claude Moore Health Sciences Library in May 2023, Meggan honed her expertise in special collections at UVA's Arthur J. Morris Law Library and Duke University's Rubenstein Library.

Meggan holds a BA in history from Coastal Carolina University and an MA and PhD in history from Duke University. Her passion lies in making archival materials accessible and relevant to the user community through research, instruction, and outreach initiatives.

Meggan is committed to fostering a reparative archival model and amplifying diverse voices within the archive. Her work reflects a deep-seated belief in the power of historical narratives to shape understanding and inspire change.

For inquiries or to learn more about Meggan's work, feel free to reach out to her at mcashwell@virginia.edu or visit her HSL staff page for additional information.

Amanda Greenwood

Archivist

In her role as archivist of Historical Collections at the Claude Moore Health Sciences Library, Amanda Greenwood manages physical and born-digital collections with the goal of improving accessibility and discoverability.

A former lecturer of English literature in universities in South Korea and in the United States, she has over 20 years of expertise in academic instruction, research, and publishing. Her writings and research interests focus on trauma and emotions in archival work; web archiving labor, sustainability, and maintenance; digital projects, and the intersection of postcolonialism and masculinity in the works of James Joyce.

For inquiries or to learn more about Amanda's work, feel free to reach out to her at agreenwood@virginia.edu or visit her HSL staff page for additional information.