Classic E-Books for Core Clerkships
Internal Medicine
Internal Medicine Books
Essential Procedures for Emergency, Urgent, and Primary Care Settings, Third Edition by
Note to Readers: Publisher does not guarantee quality or access to any included digital components if book is purchased through a third-party seller. A comprehensive, step-by-step, well-illustrated introduction to common clinical procedures This text is a user-friendly guide to performing 77 clinical procedures, ranging from those commonly performed to those infrequently called upon when minutes count in emergency, urgent, and primary care settings. This heavily updated third edition includes current and comprehensive text, graphic, and video instruction on the use of bedside ultrasound for procedural guidance in order to increase procedural accuracy and mitigate complications. Edited and written by academically accomplished physicians, physician assistants, and nurse practitioners, an interprofessional approach to the performance of procedures is highlighted throughout the book. Procedures are consistently formatted and presented in clear language with step-by-step detail organized by system-specific categories for easy access to information. Each procedure includes background considerations, indications & contraindications for performing the procedure, technique for safe and correct performance, special considerations, complications, post-procedure considerations, and patient education points. Original photos, videos, high quality sonographic footage, line drawings, and tables reinforce the guidelines and procedures. Abundant "Clinical Pearls" throughout the manuscript offer practical applications of key information representing years of clinical technical experience. Extensive references at the end of each chapter further enhance the book's utilityNew to the Third Edition: Delivers 16 completely new chapters covering a plethora of newly added procedures, incorporating an interprofessional approach to performing proceduresPrevious chapters have been extensively updated and expandedProvides new illustrative videosPresents a corresponding list of CPT codesKey Features: Delivers current, concise, step-by-step information for performing 77 commonly and less commonly used clinical proceduresProvides abundant four-color photos and figures illustrating each procedureOrganized by body system to provide fast access to key informationEnriched with point of care ultrasound guided proceduresThoroughly introduces and teaches sonography at the most fundamental level as an important tool to enhance accuracy of proceduresReflects latest guidelines and evidence-based practiceIncludes prominently displayed links to numerous videos throughout the textIncludes 12 months' free Springer Connect Digital Access with print purchase!
Call Number: Clinical Key CollectionISBN: 9780826141040Publication Date: 2020-09-28
Cecil Essentials of Medicine by Call Number: Clinical Key CollectionISBN: 9780323722711Publication Date: 2021-04-19
Clinical Wards Secrets by
Finally, a book that answers the questions you have as you begin your clinical rotations. In the popular format of the Secrets Series, this book will help ease the transition from the classroom to the clinical wards. The popular Q&A format is an easy-to-use, didactic approach and covers all of the important procedures and processes you will need to know in the hospital, in the clinic, and on the ward. Throughout you will find valuable tips and "secrets" written by students and residents. This student-to-student approach ensures you are getting the most current and accurate information. Uses bulleted lists, tables, short answers, and a highly detailed index to expedite reference. Provides tips and "secrets" from top-performing students and residents, ensuring relevance and practicality. Covers all of the information you will need to stay completely current and transition smoothly to the clinical setting. Includes a list of the "Top 100 Secrets" to keep in mind during a rotation or residency. Features a compact, trim size (5 1/4" x 8 1/2") for enhanced portability. Makes information easier to find with a two-color page layout and "Key Points" boxes. Contains a glossary of common medical abbreviations and 3 new appendices; history taking, neurological exam, and miscellaneous, for even more complete coverage.
Call Number: Clinical Key CollectionISBN: 9780323057509Publication Date: 2008-12-17
Clinician's Pocket Reference by
The original Scut Monkey Handbook is the market-leading survival guide for the wards and in the clinic! 4 STAR DOODY'S REVIEW "This pocket reference is packed with information that is important for medical students and interns on a day-to-day basis. It is rich with practical information that might otherwise be located in different manuals....Medical students and other healthcare providers beginning their clinical rotations are the intended audience. The fundamental information is important for all clinicians to master, thus the book serves housestaff quite well also....This book continues to be a favorite among medical students and housestaff for good reason."--Doody's Review Service "This book continues to be a favorite among medical students and housestaff for good reason."--Doody's Review Service This portable, pocket-sized "manual of manuals" provides essential patient care information for medical students. You will find totally up-to-date coverage of current treatment protocols and step-by-step information on the history and physical examination, differential diagnosis, key lab and diagnostic tests, and much more. Revised format and design delivers bulleted, concise information as well as numerous flow charts and tables Thoroughly updated and revised with particular attention to topics like clinical microbiology, critical care, emergencies, and commonly used medications
Call Number: Access Medicine CollectionISBN: 9780071454285Publication Date: 2006-12-30
Critical Care Medicine by
Now completely revised to bring you up to date with the latest advances in the field, Critical Care Medicine: Principles of Diagnosis and Management in the Adult, 5th Edition, delivers expert, practical guidance on virtually any clinical scenario you may encounter in the ICU. Designed for intensivists, critical care and pulmonology residents, fellows, practicing physicians, and nurse practitioners, this highly regarded text is clinically focused and easy to reference. Led by Drs. Joseph Parrillo and Phillip Dellinger, the 5th Edition introduces numerous new authors who lend a fresh perspective and contribute their expertise to that of hundreds of top authorities in the field. Includes new chapters on current applications of bedside ultrasound in the ICU, both diagnostic and procedural; mechanical assist devices; and extra-corporeal membrane oxygenation (ECMO). Contains new administrative chapters that provide important information on performance improvement and quality, length of stay, operations, working with the Joint Commission, and more. Features new videos and images that provide visual guidance and clarify complex topics. Keeps you up to date with expanded chapters on echocardiography in the ICU and valvular heart disease, including TAVR. Includes separate chapters on mechanical ventilation of obstructive airway disease and acute respiratory distress syndrome (ARDS) - including the many recent changes in approach to positive end expiratory pressure setting in ARDS. Covers key topics such as patient-ventilator synchrony and non-invasive ventilation for treating chronic obstructive pulmonary disease patients with acute respiratory failure. Reflects the recent literature and guidance on amount of fluids, type of fluid, vasopressor selection, mean arterial pressure target, and decision on steroid use in septic shock. Provides questions and answers in every chapter, perfect for self-assessment and review. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Call Number: Clinical Key CollectionISBN: 9780323446761Publication Date: 2019-01-16
CURRENT Medical Diagnosis and Treatment 2023 by
The most popular annual guide of its kind--fully updated to reflect all new clinical developments in every field of adult medicine For 60+ years, CURRENT Medical Diagnosis and Treatment has been delivering the authoritative information students, residents, and clinicians need to build their medical knowledge, expertise, and confidence. Written by top experts in their fields, this unmatched guide is formatted in a way that enables you to find the answers you need quickly and easily. Packed with trusted content that keeps you up to date current on the changing guidelines and treatments on an annual basis, CURRENT Medical Diagnosis and Treatment 2023 is completely focused on bedside clinical issues. It covers all primary care topics, including gynecology, obstetrics, dermatology, ophthalmology, otolaryngology, psychiatry, neurology, toxicology, and urology. Features * 200 photos and illustrations and hundreds of quick-access drug treatment tables, with indexed tradenames and updated drug prices * Year in Review table highlights key clinical updates over the last year * Comprehensive coverage of patient care, focusing on the diagnostic tools relevant to day-to-day practice * Annual updates to topics in all chapters in a consistent format, drugs, tables, and images and annual review of advances in HIV treatment * Essentials of Diagnosis for most diseases/disorders * Diagnostic and treatment algorithms present important information in an at-a-glance style * Carefully curated references provide peer-reviewed, evidence-based information * Electronic-only chapters available to all book customers * Expanded content available online and in eBook for every chapter
Call Number: Access Medicine CollectionISBN: 9781264687343Publication Date: 2022-09-02
CURRENT Practice Guidelines in Primary Care 2024 by
The authoritative guidelines primary care clinicians need to diagnose and treat the most common outpatient conditions--compiled, distilled, and updated for easy referencing Striking the perfect balance between brevity and clinical necessity, this acclaimed annual resource presents all the latest evidence-based guidelines clinicians need to treat the most common outpatient conditions. The most thorough print compendium of guidelines for primary care practice, the book features content drawn from government agencies, expert panels, medical specialty organizations, and other professional and scientific authorities. CURRENT Practice Guidelines in Primary Care 2024 converts lengthy and cumbersome text into a practical, relevant collection of available options for busy clinicians. This go-to guide converts the tremendous amount of information on the web into a practical, relevant collection of usable data for busy clinicians. Each topic is carefully selected for relevance to the office practice of ambulatory medicine and the text is presented in a convenient, easy-to-navigate outline and tabular format. * Content is drawn from a wide array of recommendations from government agencies, expert panels, medical specialty organizations, and other professional and scientific authorities * NEW: Updates reflecting the review of more than 150 guidelines * NEW: Updates to guidelines for screening/prevention of ASCVD; anxiety disorders in children, pediatric obesity, chronic pain, neonatal hyperbilirubinemia; and osteoarthritis * NEW: Numerous topics have been added, including screening and prevention of eating disorders, COVID vaccination in pregnancy, prevention of pelvic floor dysfunction, management of chest pain, left ventricular thrombus, delirium * Guideline Discordance tables highlight when major guidelines do not mirror each other * Topics are carefully selected for relevance to the office practice of ambulatory medicine, and the text is enhanced by a convenient outline and tabular format * Screening and prevention of conditions have been combined to enhance clinician use
Call Number: Access Medicine CollectionISBN: 9781265690168Publication Date: 2023-12-06
Essential Clinical Procedures by
Provide safe and effective care to every patient with the fully revised 4th Edition of Essential Clinical Procedures. Written by experts in the field, this widely used reference shows you step by step how to perform more than 70 of the most common diagnostic and treatment-related procedures in today's primary care and specialist settings. You'll find clear, concise coverage of the skills you need to know, including new and advanced procedures and new procedure videos. Covers patient preparation, the proper use of instruments, and potential dangers and complications involved in common procedures, as well as nonprocedural issues such as informed consent, standard precautions, patient education, and procedure documentation. Includes new chapters on Point-of-Care Ultrasound and Ring Removal, as well as 34 new procedure videos. Features significantly revised content on cryosurgery . injection techniques . arterial puncture . shoulder/finger subluxations . sterile technique . outpatient coding . casting and splinting . blood cultures . standard precautions . and more. Contains more than 200 high-quality illustrations, including updated images of office pulmonary function testing and wound closure. Uses a consistently formatted presentation to help you find information quickly. Reflects the latest evidence-based protocols and national and international guidelines throughout. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Call Number: Clinical Key CollectionISBN: 9780323624671Publication Date: 2020-03-06
Ferri's Best Test by
Clinicians at all levels must consider a myriad of tests in the diagnostic process, requiring an up-to-date understanding of changing technology and the demands of time- and cost-efficiency. Ferri's Best Test, 5th Edition, is a unique, easy-to-use guide that simplifies complex information and helps you choose the best test to supplement your clinical diagnostic skills. It includes both lab and imaging tests for concise, convenient access to all diagnostic test options for more than 200 common diseases and disorders. . Practical, concise, spiral-bound, and pocket-sized-designed from cover to cover for quick, on-the-go reference. . Three convenient sections provide quick access to key information on clinical laboratory testing, diagnostic imaging, and diagnostic algorithms. . New and updated content on cardiac computed tomography angiography, computed tomography perfusion imaging, COVID-19, and much more. . Coverage of 23 new laboratory tests and 14 new diseases and disorders. . Essential information on indications, advantages, disadvantages, approximate costs, normal ranges, typical abnormalities, likeliest causes, and more. . Experienced author Dr. Fred Ferri uses a unique, easy-to-follow format to simplify complex information and help you choose the best test for every patient. . New appendices on electrocardiography and respiratory testing and function. . Comparison tables and illustrations help improve your test selection. . Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook includes an image collection with access on a variety of devices.
Call Number: Clinical Key CollectionISBN: 9780323812894Publication Date: 2022-04-22
Ferri's Clinical Advisor 2019 by
Updated annually with the latest developments in diagnosis and treatment recommendations, Ferri's Clinical Advisor uses the popular "5 books in 1" format to organize vast amounts of information in a clinically relevant, user-friendly manner. This efficient, intuitive format provides quick access to answers on more than 900 common medical conditions, including diseases and disorders, differential diagnoses, and laboratory tests - all updated by experts in key clinical fields. Updated algorithms and current clinical practice guidelines help you keep pace with the speed of modern medicine.
Call Number: Clinical Key CollectionISBN: 9780323755764Publication Date: 2018-06-20
Goldman-Cecil Medicine by
Since 1927, Goldman-Cecil Medicine has been the world's most influential internal medicine resource. In the ground-breaking 25th edition, your original purchase ensures you will be up-to-date without the need for a subscription. Through the new, more powerful Expert Consult eBook platform, this "living text" provides continuous updates that will integrate the latest research, guidelines, and treatments into each chapter, ensuring that the content is as current as the day this edition was first published. Goldman-Cecil Medicine offers definitive, unbiased guidance on the evaluation and management of every medical condition, presented by a veritable "Who's Who" of modern medicine. A practical, straightforward style; templated organization; evidence-based references; and robust interactive content combine to make this dynamic resource quite simply the fastest and best place to find all of the authoritative, state-of-the-art clinical answers you need. "The content is superb, authoritative and not surprisingly very up to date." Reviewed by: Dr Harry Brown, on behalf of Glycosmedia Date: July 2015 Expert Consult eBook version included with print purchase: Access continuous updates from Editor Lee Goldman, MD, who thoroughly reviews internal medicine and specialty journals, updating online content to reflect the latest guidelines and translating that evidence into treatment. Interactive Q&A section features over 1,500 board-style questions and answers to aid in preparing for certification or recertification exams. Outstanding supplementary tools include figures, tables, videos, heart and lung sounds, treatment and management algorithms, fully integrated references, and thousands of illustrations and full-color photos. Search all of the text, figures, supplementary material, and references from the book on a variety of devices and at no additional cost - Expert Consult access is included with this title! Practical, bulleted, highly templated text with easy-to-use features including flow charts and treatment boxes. New chapters on global health, cancer biology and genetics, and the human microbiome in health and disease keep you on the cutting edge of medicine. Today's most current evidence-based medicine guidelines help you form a definitive diagnosis and create the best treatment plans possible. Focused coverage of the latest developments in biology includes the specifics of current diagnosis, therapy, and medication doses. The reference of choice for every stage of your career! Goldman-Cecil Medicine is an ideal learning tool for residents, physicians, and students as well as a valuable go-to resource for experienced healthcare professionals. Cecil - the best internal medicine resource available since 1927 - far exceeds the competition in versatility, ease-of-use and up-to-datedness.
Call Number: Clinical Key CollectionISBN: 9780323930345Publication Date: 2015-04-27
Harrisons Principles of Internal Medicine by
"This book presents a sharp focus on the clinical presentation of disease, expert in-depth summaries of pathophysiology and treatment, and includes highlights of emerging frontiers of science and medicine"--
Call Number: Access Medicine CollectionISBN: 9781264268467Publication Date: 2022-03-01
Macleod's Clinical Examination by
2014 BMA Medical Book Awards Highly Commended in Medicine category! This classic textbook sets out clearly and concisely how to evaluate symptoms and elicit relevant physical signs. It describes the practical skills which every clinician must acquire and develop in order to evolve diagnostic procedures and management strategies and plans. 'Highly Commended' in the 2006 and 2010 BMA Medical Book Competitions, this Thirteenth Edition contains over 500 clinical photographs and diagrams to illustrate the text, with new topics added to make the book even more comprehensive. This Thirteenth Edition has four sections: History taking and general examination. System examination covering symptoms and signs. Examination in special situations including babies & children and the critically ill. Assessing clinical examination technique. Included on the Student Consult site are the specially-recorded videos demonstrating many of the clinical examination routines described in the main text. The book starts with a general overview section on history taking and the general examination that provides the framework on which to hang the detail. The systematic examination section documents clearly the relevant history, examination and special investigations as well as giving advice on their significance. The third section covers examination in specific situations and emphasises an integrated and structured approach to these patients. A final section spells out how to demonstrate the techniques learned in the book in an OSCE. Macleod's is closely linked to its sister publication, Davidson's Principles & Practice of Medicine, which complements the information in this text. Available with full online access on Student Consult and ancillary videos demonstrating key clinical examination routines following the format laid out in the book. There are two new chapters on examination in specific situations: The frail elderly The febrile adult A new section explicitly spells out how to demonstrate the techniques learned in the book in an OSCE and other formative and summative examinations. Over 50 new text boxes highlight the evidence-base for the examination techniques discussed. An Advisory Board of students, junior doctors, and representatives from the nursing, ambulance, Primary Care and academic communities from six countries has made detailed comments and critically appraised the entire book. The text has been substantially rewritten with more on medically unexplained symptoms in the History Taking chapter and extended coverage of diabetes mellitus in the Endocrine System chapter. Integrated with the online text are clinical examination videos of trained professionals performing many of the examination routines described in the book with a new accompanying commentary by the Editor, Professor Colin Robertson Two new videos show how the Glasgow Coma Scale should be performed in clinical situations, demonstrating the correct techniques and also common pitfalls in using the GCS.
Call Number: Clinical Key CollectionISBN: 9780323847704Publication Date: 2013-06-21
The Medical Interview by
Master the art of conducting a medical interview and in the process hone your communication skills. The authors have also created a downloadable interview organizer that can be used as a management tool for their first interviews.
Call Number: R2 Book CollectionISBN: 9780803612464Publication Date: 2005-09-29
