Clinical Resources
Other Resources
- e-JournalsSearch a complete list of all our journals. If you have a citation, use this link to find full-text.
- e-BooksSearch our books; read online and download PDFs.
- Current Procedure Codes with RVUs This link opens in a new windowEssential coding and reimbursement data for CPT code set.
Clinical Librarian
Clinicians & Allied Health
Searching
Search Tools
This page will help you find search tools and library resources to aid in patient care or research. Hover over the blue links to learn more about each resource. Need help getting started?
Point-of-Care
Use these tools to answer quick questions and find background info, evidence summaries, updates on hot topics, and more.
- UpToDate This link opens in a new windowA physician authored clinical decision support resource with synthesized evidence ideal for point-of-care decisions. Compiles the most recent information to support its evidence-based recommendations.
- Essential Evidence Plus (Formerly InfoRetriever) This link opens in a new windowConsists of 8 separate databases that provide new research information, basic drug information, evidence-based clinical guidelines, and clinical decision-making tools.
- ClinicalKey This link opens in a new windowThis medical search engine works a little like Google. It includes medical and surgical reference books, access to journals/articles, procedural content and videos, point-of-care summaries, drug info, and access to MEDLINE. Includes images and videos too.
- Cochrane Library This link opens in a new windowA collection of databases that contain high-quality, independent evidence to support healthcare decision making. Includes full-text access to the Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews, as well as the full-records from DARE, Health Technology Assessment Database (HTA), and NHS Economic Evaluation Database (NHS EED).
- Access Medicine This link opens in a new windowOver 85 leading medical textbooks, including among others, Harrison's Online, Current Medical Diagnosis & Treatment, Hurst's the Heart, Williams Obstetrics, Schwartz’s Principles of Surgery. Drug Monographs. Multimedia examination & procedural videos. Study Tools including Flash Cards and Review Questions
Unlimited simultaneous users.
- ACP Journal ClubAmerican College of Physicians' Journal Club provides best new evidence from a wide variety of journals.
Databases
Use these databases to perform literature searches and find articles.
- PubMed This link opens in a new windowProvides access to over 30 million citations for the biomedical literature from MEDLINE, online books, selected publishers, and the PubMed Central repository.
- OVID Medline This link opens in a new windowProvides access to over 28 million citations for the biomedical literature, covering biomedical research, clinical medicine, nursing, allied health, and health policy. Includes In-Process & Other Non-Indexed Citations.
- PsycINFO This link opens in a new windowDatabase covers the professional and academic literature in psychology and related disciplines such as medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, and linguistics. Updated monthly.
- CINAHL This link opens in a new windowProvides citations and selected full text for the top nursing and allied health literature available and covers a wide range of topics including nursing, biomedicine, alternative/complementary medicine, consumer health and 17 allied health disciplines.
- Web of Science (WoS) This link opens in a new windowBroad inter-disciplinary search including medicine, life sciences, social sciences, and more. Searches journal literature and conference proceedings. Also used to determine citation data (e.g. times cited) for journal articles.
- Google Scholar This link opens in a new windowFind articles from most online scholarly journals plus some books and Web sites.
Claude Moore Health Sciences Library 1350 Jefferson Park Avenue P.O. Box 800722 Charlottesville, VA 22908 (Directions)
Contact Us
Staff Directory
(434) 924-5444Feedback
© 2023 by the Rector and Visitors of the University of Virginia
Copyright & Privacy