Nursing Resources
School of Nursing Resources
Database Tutorials
CINAHL
- CINAHL This link opens in a new window
Provides citations and selected full text for the top nursing and allied health literature available and covers a wide range of topics including nursing, biomedicine, alternative/complementary medicine, consumer health and 17 allied health disciplines.
Just the Basics: Getting started in CINAHL
- Basic Searching in CINAHLVideo tutorial on how to perform a basic search in the CINAHL database, takes less than 4 minutes to watch
- CINAHL Tip SheetA quick guide on searching CINAHL from its publisher
Beyond the Basics
- Controlled Vocabulary/MeSH search in CINAHLVideo tutorial on how to search CINAHL using controlled vocabulary (subject heading/MeSH) terms, takes less than 4 minutes to watch
- Searching for Research InstrumentsLearn how to search for research instruments in CINAHL in this pre-recorded, 15-minute webinar
Advanced Tutorials
- Search Using CINAHL HeadingsThis 45-minute, pre-recorded webinar covers advanced searching in the CINAHL database using subject headings
- Keyword Searching in CINAHLA truly exhaustive database search should include both keyword and controlled vocabulary (subject heading) searching. This pre-recorded webinar provides an hour of content coverage on CINAHL keyword searching.
Cochrane Library
- Cochrane Library This link opens in a new windowA collection of databases that contain high-quality, independent evidence to support healthcare decision making. Includes full-text access to the Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews, as well as the full-records from DARE, Health Technology Assessment Database (HTA), and NHS Economic Evaluation Database (NHS EED).
Learning about the Cochrane Library
- Searching the Cochrane LibraryThis 3-minute video tutorial covers the basics of how to search the Cochrane Library
- How to Navigate the Cochrane LibraryThis 3-minute video walks you through how to navigate the Cochrane Library
- Cochrane Library User GuideWritten guide explaining main features of the Cochrane Library
- Cochrane Library Training HubLibrary of video tutorials and other learning materials for how to use the Cochrane Library
Embase
- Embase
Embase is a biomedical database that focuses on drugs and pharmacology, medical devices, clinical medicine, and basic science relevant to clinical medicine. It provides access to bibliographic citations to more than 8,500 biomedical journal articles from over 95 countries. It also contains over 2.4 million conference abstracts indexed from more than 7,000 conferences dating from 2009 to the present, and full-text indexing of drug, disease, and medical device data. It has especially strong coverage on drug trials. Over 1.5 million records are added yearly, with an average of over 6,000 each day.
Tutorials and User Guide
- Getting StartedA 3-minute video overview of Embase.
- Embase Video TutorialsLink to brief video tutorials on how to use different aspects of Embase.
PubMed
- PubMed This link opens in a new windowProvides access to over 30 million citations for the biomedical literature from MEDLINE, online books, selected publishers, and the PubMed Central repository.
Learning about PubMed
- PubMed Tutorials, Courses, and TipsheetsThe National Library of Medicine offers a series of quick instructional videos, full-length classes, and PDF tipsheets to learn more about how to perform effective searches in PubMed.
Scopus
- Scopus
Scopus is an abstract and citation database that indexes content from more than 25,000 active titles and 7,000 publishers—all rigorously vetted and selected by an independent review board.
Learning about Scopus
- Basic Searching in Scopus3-minute video tutorial
- Advanced Searching in Scopus3-minute video tutorial
- More Scopus TutorialsElsevier's page of video tutorials on specific topics in using Scopus
VisualDx
- VisualDxVisualDx is clinical decision support system software intended to be used by medical practitioners, including primary care practitioners, to assist them in differential diagnosis.
Learning about VisualDx
- VisualDx Video PlaylistLink to 14 brief tutorials covering different aspects of using VisualDx.
Web of Science
- Web of Science (WoS) This link opens in a new windowBroad inter-disciplinary search including medicine, life sciences, social sciences, and more. Searches journal literature and conference proceedings. Also used to determine citation data (e.g. times cited) for journal articles.
Learning about Web of Science
- Web of Science Essentials45-minute, pre-recorded webinar on basics of Web of Science
- Web of Science Essentials - AdvancedThis 45-minute, pre-recorded video tutorial builds on what was learned in Web of Science Essentials
- Web of Science GuideQuick written guide on basic features of Web of Science
- Web of Science Learning PortalLibrary of video tutorials, guides, and other resources for learning how to use Web of Science
Claude Moore Health Sciences Library 1350 Jefferson Park Avenue P.O. Box 800722 Charlottesville, VA 22908 (Directions)
Contact Us
Staff Directory
(434) 924-5444Feedback
© 2024 by the Rector and Visitors of the University of Virginia
Copyright & Privacy