School of Nursing Resources
Nursing Databases
Nursing Databases
This list includes our most-used databases for performing literature searches and finding articles on nursing topics.
- CINAHL This link opens in a new window
Provides citations and selected full text for the top nursing and allied health literature available and covers a wide range of topics including nursing, biomedicine, alternative/complementary medicine, consumer health and 17 allied health disciplines.
- EmbaseEmbase is a biomedical database that focuses on drugs and pharmacology, medical devices, clinical medicine, and basic science relevant to clinical medicine. It provides access to bibliographic citations to more than 8,500 biomedical journal articles from over 95 countries. It also contains over 2.4 million conference abstracts indexed from more than 7,000 conferences dating from 2009 to the present, and full-text indexing of drug, disease, and medical device data. It has especially strong coverage on drug trials. Over 1.5 million records are added yearly, with an average of over 6,000 each day.
- Google Scholar This link opens in a new windowFind articles from most online scholarly journals plus some books and Web sites.
- Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition This link opens in a new windowProvides nearly 550 scholarly full text journals focusing on many medical disciplines.
- OVID Medline This link opens in a new windowProvides access to over 28 million citations for the biomedical literature, covering biomedical research, clinical medicine, nursing, allied health, and health policy. Includes In-Process & Other Non-Indexed Citations.
- Public Health and Social CareThis database includes hard-to-find materials from the front lines of health-care and social-care providers, researchers, and organizations.
- PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
Database covers the professional and academic literature in psychology and related disciplines such as medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, and linguistics. Updated monthly.
- PubMed This link opens in a new windowProvides access to over 30 million citations for the biomedical literature from MEDLINE, online books, selected publishers, and the PubMed Central repository.
- Scopus
Scopus is an abstract and citation database that indexes content from more than 25,000 active titles and 7,000 publishers—all rigorously vetted and selected by an independent review board.
- Web of Science (WoS) This link opens in a new window
Broad inter-disciplinary search including medicine, life sciences, social sciences, and more. Searches journal literature and conference proceedings. Also used to determine citation data (e.g. times cited) for journal articles.
- Alt HealthWatch This link opens in a new windowThis database focuses on the many perspectives of complementary, holistic and integrated approaches to health care and wellness.
- List of All DatabasesWe've covered the most often-used databases for nursing research above, but don't forget that HSL users have access to many other databases.