School of Nursing Resources
Point-of-Care Resources
Point-of-Care Resources
Point-of-care resources provide answers based on the best available evidence at your fingertips. These resources can also be useful to explore background questions on a topic.
- Access AnesthesiologyOffers a wealth of information to support education and clinical practice: eBooks, procedure videos, instructional animation, guidelines, quick references tools, and more.
- Access Medicine This link opens in a new windowOver 85 leading medical textbooks, including among others, Harrison's Online, Current Medical Diagnosis & Treatment, Hurst's the Heart, Williams Obstetrics, Schwartz’s Principles of Surgery. Drug Monographs. Multimedia examination & procedural videos. Study Tools including Flash Cards and Review Questions
Unlimited simultaneous users. - ClinicalKey This link opens in a new window
This medical search engine works a little like Google. It includes medical and surgical reference books, access to journals/articles, procedural content and videos, point-of-care summaries, drug info, and access to MEDLINE. Includes images and videos too.
- Cochrane Library This link opens in a new windowA collection of databases that contain high-quality, independent evidence to support healthcare decision making. Includes full-text access to the Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews, as well as the full-records from DARE, Health Technology Assessment Database (HTA), and NHS Economic Evaluation Database (NHS EED).
- Essential Evidence Plus (Formerly InfoRetriever) This link opens in a new window
Consists of 8 separate databases that provide new research information, basic drug information, evidence-based clinical guidelines, and clinical decision-making tools.
- Lexidrug This link opens in a new window
Provides point-of-care drug information, including dosing, administration, interactions, toxicology, warnings and precautions, pharmacology, pharmacokinetics, pharmacogenomics, and more. Generic or product name searches link to additional information, including AHFS Essentials, AHFS DI, Martindale, Facts and Comparisons A to Z Drugs, as well as information for pediatric and geriatric populations. Also provides links to the UVA Health System Formulary, the Formulary Monograph Service, and Trissel's IV Compatibility.
- Lippincott Nursing Procedures and Skills This link opens in a new window
Contains almost 1,300 current, evidence-based procedures in all major clinical categories. It provides detailed descriptions of procedures that allows users to identify the procedure they need quickly and easily. Complete instructions, preparation guidelines, implementation steps, special considerations, and references are included in each entry.
- Mental Measurements Yearbook This link opens in a new windowProvides users with a comprehensive guide to over 2,700 contemporary testing instruments. All MMY entries contain descriptive information (e.g., test purpose, publisher, pricing) and edited review(s) written by leading content area experts, covering educational skills, personality, vocational aptitude, psychology, and related areas as included in the printed Mental Measurements Yearbooks.
- UpToDate This link opens in a new windowA physician authored clinical decision support resource with synthesized evidence ideal for point-of-care decisions. Compiles the most recent information to support its evidence-based recommendations.
- VisualDx
VisualDx is clinical decision support tool intended to be used by medical practitioners, including primary care practitioners, to assist them in differential diagnosis.
Davis's Drug Guide for Nurses by ISBN: 1719646406Publication Date: 2022-05-18Davis's Drug Guide for Nurses®, Eighteenth Edition delivers everything you need to administer medications safely across the lifespan--643 well-organized monographs encompassing hundreds of generic drugs and thousands of trade names. Its nursing-focused Cure & Care' approach explains what the drug does and describes what the nurse does and how the nursing process relates to the pharmacotherapeutics.
