School of Nursing Resources
Scales, Tools, and Measures
Finding scales, tools, and measurements
- Permissions to Use and Reproduce Instruments: guide page from University of Houston Clear LakeLooking to utilize or reproduce an instrument in your scholarly work? This guide page covers permissions to use and reproduce instruments in your work.
- CINAHL This link opens in a new window
Provides citations and selected full text for the top nursing and allied health literature available and covers a wide range of topics including nursing, biomedicine, alternative/complementary medicine, consumer health and 17 allied health disciplines.
- Mental Measurements Yearbook This link opens in a new windowProvides users with a comprehensive guide to over 2,700 contemporary testing instruments. All MMY entries contain descriptive information (e.g., test purpose, publisher, pricing) and edited review(s) written by leading content area experts, covering educational skills, personality, vocational aptitude, psychology, and related areas as included in the printed Mental Measurements Yearbooks.
- PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
Database covers the professional and academic literature in psychology and related disciplines such as medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, and linguistics. Updated monthly.
- PubMed This link opens in a new windowProvides access to over 30 million citations for the biomedical literature from MEDLINE, online books, selected publishers, and the PubMed Central repository.
- Reference List of Tools, Instruments and Measurements Useful to NursesSigma Repository's reference list of instruments and measurements relevant to nursing.
- Directory of Survey InstrumentsDirectory of free survey instruments. Recommend double-checking permissions and copyright status.