School of Nursing Resources

Resources for Nursing Instruction

Submit a purchase request to suggest consideration of a resource not already in the library's collections.

Fill out an interlibrary loan request.

Multimedia Instructional Resources

Access Medicine This link opens in a new window
Over 85 leading medical textbooks, including Harrison's online, Hurst's the Heart, Williams Obstetrics, and Schwartz’s Principles of Surgery, as well as drug monographs, multimedia examination and procedure videos, and a multimedia "auscultation classroom.". Unlimited simultaneous users are allowed.

Specific instructor resources (such as PowerPoint presentations) are available if you create an account.

AccessAnesthesiology
AccessHemOnc
AccessSurgery
Acland's Video Atlas of Human Anatomy This link opens in a new window
Supports the teaching and learning of anatomy with more than 300 narrated videos of REAL cadaver specimens.
Bates' Visual Guide This link opens in a new window
Delivers head-to-toe and systems-based physical examination techniques for the (Advanced) Assessment or Introduction to Clinical Medicine course.
ClinicalKey This link opens in a new window
This medical search engine works a little like Google. It includes medical and surgical reference books, access to journals/articles, procedural content and videos, point-of-care summaries, drug info, and access to MEDLINE. Includes images and videos too.
Essential Evidence Plus (Formerly InfoRetriever) This link opens in a new window
Consists of 8 separate databases that provide new research information, basic drug information, evidence-based clinical guidelines, and clinical decision-making tools.

Sigma Theta Tau’s Nursing Repository – includes theses, dissertations, DNP projects, faculty-created learning objects, conference presentations, guidelines, and more.

JoVE Core Nursing
JoVE Core Nursing offers concise animated lessons on nursing practices, covering health systems, nursing organizations, and health concepts.
JoVE Core Social Psychology
Key concepts in the field are explained through 66 concise and easy-to-understand animated video lessons. Plus, classical and original research experiments performed in the laboratory are demonstrated in another 25 scientist-in-action videos.
JoVE Science Education This link opens in a new window
Video library dedicated to teaching scientific and clinical fundamentals through easy- to-understand video demonstrations. With text translations and subtitles in over 10 languages, 500+ videos capture key conceptual and methodological details that are difficult to visualize using text alone.
Lexicomp Online This link opens in a new window
Provides point-of-care drug information, including dosing, administration, interactions, toxicology, warnings and precautions, pharmacology, pharmacokinetics, pharmacogenomics, and more. Generic or product name searches link to additional information, including AHFS Essentials, AHFS DI, Martindale, Facts and Comparisons A to Z Drugs, as well as information for pediatric and geriatric populations. Also provides links to the UVA Health System Formulary, the Formulary Monograph Service, and Trissel's IV Compatibility.

Lexicomp Training Videos

LinkedIn Learning (previously lynda.com) This link opens in a new window
LinkedIn Learning provides a wealth of video tutorial content to help anyone learn business, software, technology, and creative skills. Includes videos on computer skills, Excel, data visualization, and much more.
Lippincott's Nursing Procedures and Skills This link opens in a new window
Contains almost 1,300 current, evidence-based procedures in all major clinical categories. It provides detailed descriptions of procedures that allows users to identify the procedure they need quickly and easily. Complete instructions, preparation guidelines, implementation steps, special considerations, and references are included in each entry.
Mindscape Commons
Mindscape Commons is the world’s first online resource for immersive and interactive content in mental health. It presents and documents nearly 200 VR experiences, as well as some serious games and apps, for teaching and research in counseling, social work, psychology, health sciences, and related programs. It’s also collaborative in nature, so faculty and researchers can create member profiles, upload their projects, and connect with others.
Oxford Bibliographies - Public Health
Oxford Bibliographies offers exclusive, authoritative research guides across a variety of subject areas. Combining the best features of an annotated bibliography and a high-level encyclopedia, this cutting-edge resource directs researchers to the best available scholarship
Sage Research Methods This link opens in a new window
SAGE Research Methods is a methods library with more than 1000 books, reference works, journal articles, and instructional videos by world-leading academics from across the social sciences, including the largest collection of qualitative methods books available online from any scholarly publisher.
SAGE Research Methods Cases
The collection provides more than 1100 case studies, showing the challenges and successes of doing research, written by the researchers themselves. The case studies show how methods are applied in real research projects. Browse cases from SAGE Research Methods Cases Part 1, SAGE Research Methods Cases Part 2, and SAGE Research Methods Cases: Medicine and Health.
SAGE Research Methods Datasets
SAGE Research Methods Datasets is a collection of teaching datasets and instructional guides that give students a chance to learn data analysis by practicing themselves.
SAGE Research Methods Video
SAGE Research Methods Video includes hours of tutorials, interviews, video case studies, and mini-documentaries covering the entire research process. Find videos made with expert researchers from leading research institutions, SAGE authors, great teachers, and more.
SAGE Skills: Student Success
SAGE Skills: Student Success is an interactive digital resource that empowers students to learn the practical academic and personal skills needed to thrive during their time in higher education and beyond.
TDSHealth This link opens in a new window
UVA Subscribes to the following ebooks available through Stat!-Ref. Each license allows for two-simultaneous user:
- AAFP Conditions A to Z
- AHFS Drug Information
- AORN Guidelines for Perioperative Practice
- Current Procedure Codes with RVUs
- Principles of Biomedical Ethics
- Red Book Atlas of Pediatric Infectious Diseases
UpToDate This link opens in a new window
A physician authored clinical decision support resource with synthesized evidence ideal for point-of-care decisions. Compiles the most recent information to support its evidence-based recommendations.

Videos in Clinical Medine
Dozens of clinical medicine training videos from the New England Journal of Medicine.

VisualDx
VisualDx is clinical decision support system software intended to be used by medical practitioners, including primary care practitioners, to assist them in differential diagnosis.

Selected Education Databases

Selected Education Databases

Select from these excellent databases to find the one that indexes the types of journals/articles you need. Many other databases are available through our list of all UVA Databases.

Request the assistance of a trained Medical Librarian through the AskUs form.

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Offers full text coverage of information in many areas including animal science, anthropology, area studies, astronomy, biology, chemistry, civil engineering, electrical engineering, ethnic & multicultural studies, food science & technology, general science, geography, geology, law, materials science, mathematics, mechanical engineering, music, pharmaceutical sciences, physics, psychology, religion & theology, veterinary science, women's studies, zoology, and many other fields.
Dissertations & Theses This link opens in a new window
Full text (PDF) of most US dissertations from 1997 on, many earlier works and some from outside the US plus some master's theses. Also lists all dissertations and theses from 1861 on from US universities and some works from Europe and Asia from 1637 on. Abstracts included after July, 1980.
Education Full Text (1983-present)
Search for articles and reviews from English-language periodicals and yearbooks about all aspects of education. From 1994 has abstracts, from 1996 has full text of major articles from selected journals. See Education Index Retro for 1929-1983.
Education Research Complete
Large database covering journal articles, conference papers and some books on all aspects of education including multilingual education, health education, testing, curriculum, administration, policy, funding, and related social issues.
ERIC (EBSCO)
ERIC provides access to more than 1.4 million bibliographic records of journal articles, most of which are peer-reviewed, and other education-related materials, with hundreds of new records added multiple times per week. If available, links to full text are included.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Find articles from most online scholarly journals plus some books and Web sites.
Mental Measurements Yearbook This link opens in a new window
Provides users with a comprehensive guide to over 2,700 contemporary testing instruments. All MMY entries contain descriptive information (e.g., test purpose, publisher, pricing) and edited review(s) written by leading content area experts, covering educational skills, personality, vocational aptitude, psychology, and related areas as included in the printed Mental Measurements Yearbooks.
PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
Database covers the professional and academic literature in psychology and related disciplines such as medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, and linguistics. Updated monthly.
PsycTESTS This link opens in a new window
PsycTESTS is a research database that provides access to psychological tests, measures, scales, surveys, and other assessments as well as descriptive information about the test and its development and administration.