About the Library


UVA Health Historical Research

Images, Videos, and Audio Recordings

Introduction to Audiovisual Materials

Among the resources offered by the Claude Moore Health Sciences Library are audiovisual materials related to the history of UVA Health. This page provides lists of image-, video-, and audio-based collections maintained by the Library, as well as some suggested outside resources. Some of these collections are available to view online; however, to obtain access to certain material, you may need to contact Historical Collections staff: cmhslhc@virginia.edu

Audiovisual Materials Related to the History of UVA Health

Image Collections

  • UVA Visual History Collection. A collection of 12,000+ photographs documenting people, events, and facilities at the University of Virginia. Photographs can be searched, viewed, and downloaded through Virgo, the UVA Library online catalog. Images come from both the Claude Moore Health Sciences Library and the Albert and Shirley Small Special Collections Library.

  • UVA Medical Artifacts Collection. This collection contains 1,000+ images of medical artifacts from the collections of the Claude Moore Health Sciences Library. Some of the artifacts have specific provenance which ties them to the history of UVA Health.

  • Holsinger Studio Collection. A collection of 10,000+ images from the commercial photography studio of Rufus W. Holsinger. These images document individuals, scenes, and events at UVA from the 1880s to the 1930s. Included in the collection are photographs of medical students and faculty, as well as early photographs of the UVA Hospital. The collection is held by the Albert and Shirley Small Special Collections Library.

  • Images from the History of Medicine. NLM Digital Collections provides online access to over 70,000 images from the historical collections of the U.S. National Library of Medicine. Some photographs relevant to the history of UVA Health are included.

Video Collections

Medical Center Hour

The Medical Center Hour is a program of the UVA Center for Health Humanities and Ethics. The program offers weekly lectures on various topics related to medicine and society. Over the history of the program, speakers have included UVA faculty and administrators. Some lectures address contemporary issues and events, and a subset of lectures focuses on historical topics. Depending on the year of the program, past Medical Center Hour programs may be available through various means.

  • Medical Center Hour. (1973-2015). Videos from the early years of the Medical Center Hour can be found in Virgo. These recordings are archived on various formats (e.g. U-Matic, VHS, DVD); some recordings have been digitized. To inquire about accessing one of these programs, please contact Historical Collections: cmhslhc@virginia.edu.

  • Medical Center Hour. (2012-2021). Recordings from 2012-2021 are available to stream via Avalon.

  • Medical Center Hour. (YouTube Channel). Many recent Medical Center Hour videos are available to watch on YouTube. The YouTube channel is maintained by the UVA Center for Health Humanities and Ethics.

Oral History Collections

In addition to the following resources, other oral histories from the collections of the Claude Moore Health Sciences Library can be found in Virgo. Also see the Topical Guides section of this LibGuide for suggested oral histories with specific individuals.

Audio Collections

  • History of the Health Sciences Lecture Series. (1980-2006). A lecture series sponsored by the Claude Moore Health Sciences Library covering various topics in the history of medicine. Speakers include UVA School of Medicine faculty and alumni. By the early 2000s, the History of the Health Sciences Lecture Series became incorporated into the Medical Center Hour Program. Recordings from this time can be found (in video format) among the Medical Center Hour holdings.

  • Agnes Dillon Randolph Lectures. (1994-1998). Programs covering topics in the history of nursing; the lectures were sponsored by the Center for Nursing Historical Inquiry and took place at the Claude Moore Health Sciences Library. 

  • Charles E. Moran, Jr. Oral History Interviews. (1976-1977). Recorded interviews with faculty, staff, and alumni affiliated with UVA Health. The interviews were conducted by Charles E. Moran, Jr., a former director of the University of Virginia Press. Additional Charles E. Moran, Jr. Oral Histories are held by the Albert and Shirley Small Special Collections Library.

Skip to Main Content

Claude Moore Health Sciences Library
1350 Jefferson Park Avenue P.O. Box 800722
Charlottesville, VA 22908 (Directions)

facebook twitter instagram
© 2021 by the Rector and Visitors of the University of Virginia
Copyright & Privacy