Exhibits and Online Resources

Books, Articles, and Presentations

Below is a list of books, articles, and presentations related to the history of World War I and UVA Health. The list is arranged in chronological order.

• Patton, J.S. (1922). The University of Virginia in the World War. Alumni Bulletin of the University of Virginia. Vol. 15 No. 1. Charlottesville, Va.: The University of Virginia Press. pp. 48-116.

• Lengel, E.C. (September 2001). University of Virginia Base Hospital 41 in the First World War. Magazine of Albemarle County History. Vol. 59. Charlottesville, Va.: Albemarle Charlottesville Historical Society.

Oral Histories, Interviews, and Conversations

This is a list of known oral histories and interviews arranged in chronological order that document the history of World War I and UVA Health. Whenever possible, we include a direct link to an online version of the resource. When that is not possible, we provide a link to a catalog record that will indicate how you can access the resource at one of the University of Virginia's libraries.

• Oral History Interview of Bernard P. Chamberlain, 1973

• Recollections of Base Hospital 41, Bernard P. Chamberlain, 1981

Records and Other Archival Materials

Personal Papers

• Camilla Louise Wills Collection: This collection documents Wills’ experiences as a Red Cross nurse serving in Base Hospital No. 41 during World War I and her subsequent career in Public Health and Health Education in the southwestern United States. It is housed at the University of Virginia's Eleanor Crowder Bjoring Center for Nursing Historical Inquiry.

• Fife Freudenberg Family Papers: UVA's Albert and Shirley Small Special Collections Library stewards a few small collections with materials that document the experiences of Ella Katherine Fife during her time serving in Base Hospital No. 41.

• Letters of Everett Oertel: A small collection of clippings, letters, and other materials that document the experiences of Everett Oertel as a patient of Base Hospital No. 41.

• Papers of the Tennis Family: Some letters in this collection document the experiences of W.J. Tennis's life at Base Hospital No. 41 during World War I.

Online Images

• University of Virginia Visual History Collection: The University of Virginia has digitized a collection of images that document the history of Base Hospital No. 41. Those images can be viewed and accessed in the online University of Virginia Visual History Collection.

Other Archival Materials

• Base Hospital No. 41 Collection: A collection of archival materials that members of Base Hospital No. 41 gathered to document the history of the unit. Housed at the University of Virginia's Claude Moore Health Sciences Library, it includes newsletters, clippings, histories, reunion records, photographs, diary excerpts, and other materials.

• Base Hospital No. 41 Papers: A general collection of about 20 items housed at UVA's Albert and Shirley Small's Special Collections Library that includes materials similar to the "Base Hospital No. 41 Collection" at the Claude Moore Health Sciences Library.

• Record of Operations: United States Army Base Hospital No. 41: Gives name, rank and outfit of patient, date of wound, a description of the operation, name of surgeon, assistant and anaesthetist, and time for the operation, for 1487 wounded men.

Exhibits and Online Resources

• 8th Evacuation Hospital: The University of Virginia in World War II: In 2007, the Claude Moore Health Sciences Library produced this online exhibit about the U.S. Army's 8th Evacuation Hospital Unit. The University of Virginia organized the 8th Evac., and the mobile hospital unit was largely comprised of faculty, staff, and alumni from the University. They served between 1942 and 1945 with overseas deployments in North Africa and Italy. The exhibit includes a historical narrative, the personal recollections of unit members, and the correspondence of Chief Nurse Ruth Beery. Janet Pearson, a staff member at the Library created this exhibit with the assistance of Joby Troper.

• 8th Evacuation Hospital Unit History: The WW2 Medical Research Centre maintains a history of the 8th Evac.'s service between 1942 and 1945.

Books, Articles, and Presentations

Below is a list of books, articles, and presentations related to the history of World War II and UVA Health. The list is arranged in chronological order.

• Leavell, B.S. (1970). The 8th Evac: A History of the University of Virginia Hospital Unit in World War II. Richmond, Va.: Dietz Press.

• Carter, E.E. (1992). C'est le Garre: Reminiscences of a World War II Army Nurse. Staunton, Va.: s.n.

• Wagoner, J.L. and Baxter, R.L. (1992). Higher Education Goes to War: The Impact of World War II on the University of Virginia.

• Cavanaugh, D.M. (2021). UVA and the History of Race: Confronting Labor Discrimination. UVA Today. Charlottesville, Va.: The University of Virginia.

Oral Histories, Interviews, and Conversations

This is a list of known oral histories and interviews arranged in chronological order that document the history of World War II and UVA Health. Whenever possible, we include a direct link to an online version of the resource. When that is not possible, we provide a link to a catalog record that will indicate how you can access the resource at one of the University of Virginia's libraries.

• UVA Goes to War: The Story of the 8th Evacuation Hospital in World War II, 1989: "This special program, presented to mark the 50th anniversary of the beginning of World War II, brings together 3 alumni of the UVa Hospital Unit (John L. Guerrant, Elizabeth Drash, William Thornton). They share their wartime experiences as they recall the hardships, rewards, and camaraderie of their service in Italy and North Africa."

• The Eighth Evacuation Hospital: The University of Virginia's Hospital Unit in World War II, 2001: "Dr. John L. Guerrant delivers his memoirs of the Eighth Evacuation Hospital, the University of Virginia's Hospital Unit in World War II."

Records and Other Archival Materials

• 8th Evacuation Hospital Collection: The bulk of the records at UVA that document the history of the 8th Evacuation Hospital Unit were assembled into this collection at the Claude Moore Health Sciences Library. It is an extensive collection of photographs, scrapbooks, newsletters, citations, correspondence, reports, purchase orders, and other materials that members of the Unit and their families have donated to the Library.

Artifacts

• 8th Evacuation Hospital Artifacts: The Claude Moore Health Sciences Library is home to a collection of artifacts that document the history of the 8th Evac. The artifacts have been photographed and are available through Virgo, the University of Virginia Libraries online catalog.

Online Images

• The University of Virginia Visual History Collection: The University of Virginia has digitized a collection of images that document the history of the 8th Evacuation Hospital Unit. Those images can be viewed and accessed in the online University of Virginia Visual History Collection.

Personal Papers

• Alice Huffman Bugel Papers: "The papers consist of materials principally related to Bugel's 8th Evacuation Hospital service, including a citation and service award; period newspaper clippings; and an extensive collection of photographs taken at the hospital and on travels nearby.  Also included are various documents and photographs relative to 8th Evac alumni reunions."

• Dorothy Sandridge Gloor Collection: "The Dorothy Sandridge Gloor Collection consists of keepsakes, correspondence, and photographs relative to Gloor’s service as a nurse with the Eighth Evacuation Unit Hospital during World War Two, principally in Italy.  Of particular importance are an extensive collection of photographs and albums, as well as a small group of autobiographical texts by Gloor and a recorded interview, all concerning her wartime experiences.  Also of interest are scrapbooks of newspaper clippings assembled at the moment by Gloor; these concern reports on the progress of the war, organized by geographical region, in addition to commemorative articles published after the demise of Franklin Delano Roosevelt."

• Photographs of the 8th Evacuation Hospital (Staige D. Blackford): This collection contains photographs owned by Staige D. Blackford documenting the personnel and activities of the 8th Evacuation Hospital in North Africa and Italy during World War II.

• Papers of Staige D. Blackford: Primarily consists of correspondence written by Dr. Staige D. Blackford documenting his experiences in the 8th Evacuation Hospital Unit.

• Papers of William H. Laird: Primarily consists of correspondence documenting the wartime experiences of the 8th Evac.'s chaplain, William H. Laird.

• Photograph Album of the 8th Evacuation Hospital (William H. Laird): A photograph album owned by William H. Laird that contains photographs documenting the activities of the 8th Evacuation Hospital Unit.

Other Materials

• Letters from Members of the 8th Evacuation Hospital, USA, in North Africa to Dr. Lentz, 1942-1943.

• Papers of the U.S. Army Evacuation Hospital No. 8: Material collected by Byrd Stuart Leavell for his book "The 8th Evacuation." It includes material on the organization of the unit at the University of Virginia, Leavell's diary of the hospital's work, statistics, reports, maps, operating room schedules, clippings, daily miscellanea from the unit and the typescript and galley of Leavell's book.