Exhibits and Online Resources

• The Anatomical Theatre at the University of Virginia. This online exhibit was created by the Claude Moore Health Sciences Library in 2015-2016 to document the history of the first building designed for medical education at UVA. The exhibit describes the origins of the building, its design, and its role in the early medical education curriculum.

• Jefferson's University, the Early Life (JUEL) Project, 1819-1870. The JUEL Project was created by UVA's Institute for Advanced Technology in the Humanities (IATH). The website houses many resources on the early years of the University, included digitized historical documents, interpretive essays, image galleries, and digital reconstructions of early buildings. Among these resources, you can find information on the Anatomical Theatre; Pavilion X, the home of the first Professor of Medicine; early students and faculty; and more.

Books, Articles, and Presentations

Below is a list of books, articles, and presentations related to the history of medical education at UVA. The list is arranged in chronological order.

• Barringer, Paul B. (1888). A History of the Medical Department of the University of Virginia: Its System of Education and its Results. Virginia Medical Monthly 14(10). January 1888, 743-752. [An address delivered before the students and alumni of Medical Department of the University of Virginia on October 25, 1887.]

• Davis, John Staige. (1914). History of the Medical Department of the University of Virginia, 1825-1914. Alumni Bulletin of the University of Virginia, Third Series 7(3), July 1914, 299-320.

• Davis, John Staige and Hough, Theodore. (1920). The University of Virginia in Medicine. Charlottesville, Va.: Executive Committee of the University of Virginia Centennial Endowment Fund publication.

• Bruce, Philip Alexander. (1920-1922). History of the University of Virginia, 1819-1919; The Lengthened Shadow of One Man, Vol. 1-5. New York: Macmillan Company.

• Rodgers, Elise Anderson. (1930). The Foundation and Early History of the Medical School of the University of Virginia. Masters Thesis, University of Virginia.

• Blanton, Wyndham Bolling. (1933). Medicine in Virginia in the Nineteenth Century. Richmond, Va.: Garrett & Massie.

• Hart, Andrew DeJarnette. (1938). Thomas Jefferson's Influence on the Foundation of Medical Instruction at the University of Virginia. Annals of Medical History, New Series 10(1), 47-60.

• Jordan, Harvey E. (1952). History of the School of Medicine. Unpublished manuscript, 25 p.

• Radbill, Samuel X. (1959). Robley Dunglison, M.D., 1798-1869: American Medical Educator. Journal of Medical Education 34(2), February 1959, 84-94.

• Moll, Wilhelm. (1968). University of Virginia's "Firsts" in the History of Medical Education. Virginia Medical Monthly 95, March 1968, 158-161.

• Barrett, Clifton W. (1975). Some Sidelights on the History of Medicine at the University of Virginia. Address to the American Surgical Association, 18 January 1975.

• Breeden, James O. (1975). Body Snatchers and Anatomy Professors: Medical Education in Nineteenth-Century Virginia. The Virginia Magazine of History and Biography, 83(3), July 1975, 321-345. (Access available to UVA affiliates.)

• Fitz-Hugh, G. Slaughter. (1981). Anatomical Laboratory and Dissecting Hall, 1833-1928. Unpublished manuscript, 10 p.

• Pitts, Grover C. (1985). History of Physiology at the University of Virginia, The Physiologist 28(5), 402-406.

• Anderson, Garth. (2002). Early Medical Facilities at the University of Virginia. Unpublished brochure featuring floor plans and photographs.

• Koste, Jodi, and Hinton, Barry T. (2008). Dissection, Deception, and Resurrection: Anatomical Instruction in Virginia in the 19th Century. Presentation for the Medical Center Hour series. University of Virginia.

• Gates, Ernie. (2017). Theatre of the Macabre: Jefferson's Anatomical Building Advanced UVA Medical Education--At a Price. Virginia Magazine. University of Virginia.

• McInnis, Maurie D. and Nelson, Louis P. (Editors). (2019). Educated in Tyranny: Slavery at Thomas Jefferson's University. Charlottesville, Va.: University of Virginia Press.

History of the Health Sciences Lecture Series

This lecture series sponsored by the Claude Moore Health Sciences Library and dedicated to the history of the health sciences has often included talks related to the history of medical education at UVA. Below is a list of relevant lectures; the list is arranged in chronological order.

• Bean, William Bennett. (1980). Dunglison and American Medicine. Presentation for the History of the Health Sciences Lecture Series. University of Virginia, Claude Moore Health Sciences Library.

• Shields, Randolph T. (1989). Early Medical Schools in Virginia. Presentation for the History of the Health Sciences Lecture Series. University of Virginia, Claude Moore Health Sciences Library.

• Thorup, Oscar A. (1990). Jefferson and Medicine: The Foundations and Development of His Ideas. Presentation for the History of the Health Sciences Lecture Series. University of Virginia, Claude Moore Health Sciences Library.

• Brieger, Gert H. (1991). Medicine and the University: Historical Relations. Presentation for the History of the Health Sciences Lecture Series. University of Virginia, Claude Moore Health Sciences Library.

• Breeden, James O. (1992). Medicine in Jefferson's Virginia. Presentation for the History of the Health Sciences Lecture Series. University of Virginia, Claude Moore Health Sciences Library.

• Savitt, Todd L. (1993). Thomas Jefferson and Medical Education at the University of Virginia. Presentation for the History of the Health Sciences Lecture Series. University of Virginia, Claude Moore Health Sciences Library.

• Taylor, Peyton. (2003). From Dunglison to Osler to Harrison: Principles and Practice of Medicine in Three Giant Steps. Presentation for the History of the Health Sciences Lecture Series. University of Virginia, Claude Moore Health Sciences Library.

• Wilhelm, M.C. (2010). Jefferson: A Man of Medicine. Presentation for the History of the Health Sciences Lecture Series. University of Virginia, Claude Moore Health Sciences Library.

Records and Other Archival Materials

Historical Publications

Arranged in chronological order.

• School of Medicine Announcements (Record or Catalogs), 1825-2009. [Part of the UVA School of Medicine Records RG-17-1]. Published under several different names, these annual catalogs contain admissions requirements, course and facilities descriptions, and other information related to the medical curriculum.

• Cabell, Nathaniel Francis, Jefferson, Thomas, and Cabell, Joseph C. (1856). Early History of the University of Virginia, as Contained in the Letters of Thomas Jefferson and Joseph C. Cabell. Richmond, Va.: J.W. Randolph. Includes Jefferson's ideas for a "complete system of education" and a brief historical sketch of the University.

• Barringer, Paul B. (1887). Opening of the Anatomy Hall at the University of Virginia, with an Address by Dr. Paul B. Barringer, of Davidson College, N.C. North Carolina Medical Journal, 20(5). Wilmington, November 1887, 277-278.

• The Three Years' Medical Course. (1896). From The Alumni Bulletin of the University of Virginia, 2(4), February 1896, 141. This short article by an unnamed author describes a recent expansion of the medical course at UVA to three academic sessions.

• Christian, W.G. (1903). Clinical Teaching of the University of Virginia Hospital. From The Alumni Bulletin of the University of Virginia, 3(4), October 1903, 175-176. A brief description of practical training conducted at the UVA Hospital as part of the medical curriculum.

• Hough, Theodore. (1917). Medical Education at the University. From The Alumni Bulletin of the University of Virginia, 10(1), January 1917, 56-59. In this short article, the Acting Dean of the Department of Medicine describes recent revisions in admissions requirements and enrollment numbers at the UVA medical school and provides a summary of the enlargement of the Hospital.

• Bibliography of the University of Virginia, 1826-1921. (1923). From The Alumni Bulletin of the University of Virginia, 16(23), July 1923, 276-334. A summary of faculty members of the School of Medicine between 1824 and 1921, with brief biographical statements for each individual and a list of their published works.

• Dunglison, Robley and Radbill, Samuel X. (1963). The Autobiographical Ana of Robley Dunglison, M.D. Philadelphia, Pa.: American Philosophical Society. This work contains autobiographical writings of Robley Dunglison, which were compiled, edited, and published in 1963 by Samuel X. Radbill. The work also includes an introduction, bibliography, and notes on the text written by Radbill.

Other Records

• UVA School of Medicine Student Notebook Collection, MS-37, 1839-1954. A collection of student notebooks containing the notes that medical students took in their classes or laboratories at the University of Virginia. This collection is located at the Claude Moore Health Sciences Library.

• UVA School of Medicine Records, RG-17-1. The bulk of the UVA School of Medicine records are from the 20th century; however, the collection also includes some earlier records, such as: syllabi and other course materials (see RG-17-1-20) and early graduation certificates (see RG-17-1-35), as well as relevant history files (see RG-17-1-32).

• Board of Visitors Minutes, 1817-2007. This guide maintained by UVA Library provides several methods for browsing and searching the University of Virginia Board of Visitors (BOV) Minutes. The BOV Minutes contain information on faculty appointments, admissions procedures, and curriculum changes, among other topics.

• John Staige Davis Papers: 1839-1885. MSS 3247; and 1840-1888. MSS 1912, 2842. These papers are located at the Albert and Shirley Small Special Collections Library. They contain correspondence, notebooks, and other records of Dr. John Staige Davis, a faculty member in Anatomy, Materia Medica, Therapeutics, and Botany at UVA between 1847-1885.

• James Lawrence Cabell Papers: 1882-1974. MS-35; and 1829-1863 MSS 1640 & 3894. The first collection of papers is housed at the Claude Moore Health Sciences Library; the other materials are located at the Albert and Shirley Small Special Collections Library. Dr. James Lawrence Cabell was a professor of Anatomy, Physiology, and Surgery at the University of Virginia for more than 50 years.

Early Medical Textbooks and Syllabi

Below is a partial list of textbooks used within the medical curriculum at the UVA School of Medicine during the nineteenth century. The list is arranged in chronological order of publication date.

• Syllabus of the Lectures on Medical Jurisprudence and on the Treatment of Poisoning and Suspended Animation. (1827). Robley Dunglison. Charlottesville, Va.: University of Virginia. 

• An Elementary Treatise on Midwifery, or, Principles of Tokology and Embryology. (1838). Alfred Velpaeau. Translated from the French with notes by Charles D. Meigs. Philadelphia, Pa.: Grigg & Elliot. (Link is for an earlier 1831 edition of the Treatise available through HathiTrust.)

• Outlines of Medical Jurisprudence: Intended to Promote the Studies of the Medical and Law Students Who Attend His Lectures. (1845). Henry Howard. Charlottesville, Va.: R.C. Noel. Later published as A Synopsis of Medical Jurisprudence. (1849).

• Manual of Physiology. (1849). William Senhouse Kirkes and James Paget. Philadelphia, Pa.: Lea and Blanchard.

• Elements of Physiology: Including Physiological Anatomy. (1851). William Benjamin Carpenter. Philadelphia, Pa.: Blanchard and Lea.

• A System of Human Anatomy, General and Special. (1852). Erasmus Wilson (edited by Paul B. Goddard). Philadelphia, Pa.: Blanchard and Lea.

• General Therapeutics and Materia Medica: Adapted for a Medical Text-book. (1853). Robley Dunglison. Philadelphia, Pa.: Blanchard and Lea.

• The Principles and Practice of Modern Surgery. (1853). Robert Druitt, edited by F.W. Sargent. Philadelphia, Pa.: Lea and Blanchard.

• Syllabus of Lectures on Physiology and Histology: Including the Outlines of Comparative Anatomy. (1853). James L. Cabell. Charlottesville, Va.: McKennie & Son.

• Rudimentary Chemistry for the Use of Beginners. (1854). George Fownes. London: John Weale. (An earlier 1848 edition is available through HathiTrust.)

• A Treatise on the Practice of Medicine. (1855). George B. Wood. Philadelphia, Pa.: Lippincott, Grambo, and Co.

• An Introduction to Practical Pharmacy: Designed as a Text-book for the Student, and as a Guide to the Physician and Pharmaceutist. (1856). Edward Parrish. Philadelphia, Pa.: Blanchard and Lea..

• A Treatise on Human Physiology; Designed for the Use of Students and Practitioners of Medicine. (1859). John C. Dalton, Jr. Philadelphia, Pa.: Blanchard and Lea.

• A Manual of Medical Jurisprudence: with Notes and References to American Decisions by Clement B. Penrose. (1866). Alfred Swaine Taylor. Philadelphia, Pa: Henry C. Lea.

• A Treatise on Therapeutics, and Pharmacology, or Materia Medica. (1868). George B. Wood. Philadelphia, Pa.: J.B. Lippincott & Co.

• A Handy-Book of Ophthalmic Surgery for the Use of Practitioners. (1869). John Z. Laurence and Robert C. Moon. Philadelphia, Pa: Henry C. Lea.

• The Principles and Practice of Surgery. (1871). John Ashurst. Philadelphia, Pa.: Henry C. Lea.

• A Treatise on the Principles and Practice of Medicine; Designed for the Use of Practitioners and Students of Medicine. (1873). Austin Flint. Philadelphia, Pa.: Henry C. Lea.

• Essentials of the Principles and Practice of Medicine: a Handbook for Students and Practitioners. (1874). Henry Hartshorne. Philadelphia, Pa.: Henry C. Lea. (Link is for an earlier 1871 edition of the Treatise available through HathiTrust.)

• A System of Midwifery, Including the Diseases of Pregnancy and the Puerperal State. (1875). William Leishman. Philadelphia, Pa.: Henry C. Lea.

• Syllabus of the Lectures on the Practice of Medicine Delivered at the University of Virginia. (1895). Augustus H. Buckmaster. Charlottesville, Va.: University of Virginia.