Books

• Virgo (UVA Library Catalog). Books and journals held by any of the UVA Libraries can be searched through the UVA Library catalog.

• HathiTrust Digital Library. Digitized titles from libraries around the world, as well as government documents and other materials in the public domain. Content relevant for historical research related to UVA Health includes alumni newsletters, academic catalogs, and faculty publications.

Articles

Newspaper Articles

• Daily Progress Digital Edition. (1893-1964). Search or browse digitized microfilm of the Daily Progress for local news stories. See instructions in the linked UVA Library Guide for how to navigate the collection.

• Virginia Chronicle: Digital Newspaper Archive. A historical archive of Virginia newspapers, with articles from over 360 titles published throughout Virginia. This resource is maintained by the Library of Virginia.

• African American Newspapers Part I-XIV. [Access available for UVA affiliates.] Text-version database of 19th and early 20th Century African American newspapers. Maintained by Accessible Archives.

• ProQuest Historical Newspapers. [Access available for UVA affiliates.] Large database of full-text newspapers from major U.S. news publications.

Journal Articles

• JSTOR. [Access available for UVA affiliates.] Database of older scholarly journals.

• PLOS: Public Library of Science. Digital collection of open-access journals focused on topics in the life and health sciences.

• PubMed. [Access available for UVA affiliates.] Citations from NLM's Medline database and biomedical articles from the 1950s to the present.

Presentations

For links to search recorded presentations from the Medical Center Hour lecture series, see the Images, Videos, and Audio Recordings Guide. Many other presentations held by the library can be located through Virgo.

• Virgo (UVA Library Catalog). Recorded presentations held by any of the UVA Libraries can be searched through the UVA Library catalog.